User login

Searching the deep Earth: a vision for exploration geoscience in Australia

Registration Program Flyer



Representing research, government and industry sectors, the UNCOVER Implementation Committee was convened under the aegis of the Australian Academy of Science to address the decline in Australian mineral exploration success through implementation of the 2010 Theo Murphy High Flyers Think Tank recommendations (Searching the deep Earth: the future of Australian resource discovery and utilisation).

In 2012 The UNCOVER Implementation Committee developed Searching the deep Earth: a vision for exploration geoscience in Australia document to call for Australian earth scientists to cooperate in an innovative, structured and nationally coordinated strategic venture that will bring competitive advantage to Australian mineral exploration. The vision requires research groups, surveys and explorers to participate in a cross-institutional joint research venture on a scale never before attempted.

Minister for Resources and Energy, The Hon. Martin Ferguson AM MP launched the document on 8 August 2012, as part of the International Resource Ministers Forum at the 34th International Geological Congress. In his speech the Minister stated:

"The Standing Council on Energy and Resources, I chair, has agreed to develop a National Exploration Strategy to assist Australia in developing greenfields exploration capabilities. This multifaceted long-term strategy is aimed at unlocking our resources through investment in a national Geoscience Research Initiative inspired by the Searching the Deep Earth publication."

The UNCOVER Implemtnation Committee continue to work on finding ways to implement the recommendations from the Think Tank, and will be holding a 2014 UNCOVER Summit in March 2014.


UNCOVER Implementation Committee


Phil McFadden (Chair)
Australian Academy of Science
Sue O’Reilly FAA
Mitch Hooke
Mining Council of Australia
Will Robinson
Association of Mining and Exploration Companies
Brad John
Geological Surveys
Jonathon Law
Michael Asten
Australian Geoscience Council
Dean Collett