THE ADAM J. BERRY MEMORIAL FUND

The Adam J Berry Memorial Fund was established in the memory of a young Australian scientist and is comanaged on behalf of the Berry family by the Academy and the Foundation of the National Institutes of Health in the USA.

The Fund is intended to support one early-career Australian researcher to work in the USA at an institute of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) each year. In addition to gaining valuable experience for themselves, the researchers are expected to make a contribution to the research program of the institute they are visiting.

2016

Ms Breanne Hobden School of Medicine and Public Health The University of Newcastle

Ms Breanne Hobden from the University of Newcastle is the recipient of the Adam J Berry Memorial Fund award for 2016. The award will assist Ms Hobden to undertake research on the impact, treatment and outcomes of alcohol use disorder and depression, at the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism/National Institute on Drug Abuse, for 6 weeks in June.



2015

Ms Amy Loughman Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences The University of Melbourne

The 2015 recipient of the Adam J Berry Memorial Fund award was Ms Loughman from The University of Melbourne. Ms Loughman visited the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) for 13 weeks from mid-September 2015 and worked with Dr Kathleen Merikangas to develop public health interventions, strengthened by obtaining direct experience in the behavioural program to stabilize biorhythms of sleep, eating, activitiy and fluid intake in youth with migrane and/or mood disorders.



2014

Ms Emma Beckett Department of Applied Sciences The University of Newcastle

Ms Emma Beckett from the University of Newcastle was the recipient of the Adam J Berry Memorial Fund award for 2014. The award assisted Ms Beckett to undertake research on the role of nutritional status in modulating microRNAs and DNA methylation: comparisons between cohorts (maternal, elderly and disease specific) and cell culture models, at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, for 12 weeks.



2013

Bowen Dempsey Australian School of Advanced Medicine Macquarie University

Mr Bowen Dempsey from Macquarie University received the 2013 Adam Berry Fund award. The award assisted Mr Dempsey to undertake research on mapping the connectome that controls breathing, at the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, for 13 weeks. The fund is co-managed on behalf of the Berry family by the Academy and the Foundation of the National Institutes of Health in the US.



2012

Ursula Sansom-Daly Faculty of Science University of New South Wales

Ursula Sansom-Daly, from the University of New South Wales, was the recipient of this award for 2012. Ursula worked at the National Cancer Institute of the NIH for eight weeks to research paediatric psycho-oncology practices and to contribute to protocol development for a cross-cultural intervention for parents of children with chronic illness.



2011

Victoria Hewitt Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Monash University

The 2011 Adam J Berry Memorial Fund recipient was Victoria Hewitt, a PhD student from Monash University. Victoria visited the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases of the NIH during July to September 2011and explored the insertion machinery of mitochondrial outer membrane proteins. Victoria also gained skills in large-scale expression, purification and crystallization of membrane proteins and learnt about the processes involved in crystallization studies of membrane proteins and data collection.



2010

Annie Xin Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research University of Melbourne

Annie Xin was the 2010 recipient of the Adam J Berry Memorial Award and is a PhD student at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research. She visited the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) of the NIH during October to November 2010 and undertook research on effective immune responses to viral infections at the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology



2009

Jacqueline Leung Menzies Research Institute University of Tasmania

Jacqueline Leung, a PhD student at the Menzies Research Institute of the University of Tasmania, was the 2009 recipient of the Adam J Berry Memorial Award. The award assisted Jacqueline to travel to the Nervous System Development and Plasticity Section at the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), during September to December 2009, to learn an advanced *in vitro* tissue culture system to further her studies into the action of the neuroprotective protein, metallothionein, in a multicellular environment after central nervous system injuries.



2007

Eva Szarek University of Adelaide

Eva Szarek, a PhD student from the University of Adelaide, was the 2007 successful candidate for the Adam J Berry Memorial Award. The award assisted Eva to travel to the NIH Laboratory of Mammalian Genes and Development for October to December 2007. Eva conducted research related to the understanding of genes that regulate mammalian development, as well as their malfunction in human genetic disorders.

2005

Cathryn Hogarth ARC Centre of Excellence in Biotechnology and Development, Monash Institute of Medical Research Monash University

Cathryn Hogarth is a PhD student at the Monash Institute of Medical Research at Monash University. The Adam J Berry Memorial Fund award assisted her to travel to the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), North Carolina, USA during April to June 2006. While at the NIEHS, Ms Hogarth extended her research relating to nuclear transport and cellular differentiation in the fetal gonad, a novel area of research. Sperm development involves several major cellular processes, including mitosis and morphological changes that are common to health and disease. Ms Hogarth's studies prior to her visit indicated that the expression of a family of nuclear transport proteins, the importins, reflects the developmental switches that feature in sperm development.

2004

Ana Markovic Leukaemia Biology Program Children's Cancer Institute Australia

Ana Markovic, of the Children's Cancer Institute Australia, is the winner of the inaugural Adam J Berry Memorial Fund award for 2004. Ana received funding to assist her to travel to the National Cancer Institute at the NIH in Bethesda, Maryland, USA, where she will undertake research relating to childhood acute lymphoblastic leukaemia.

