Top young researchers selected to attend Nobel Laureates meeting

March 13, 2015

The Academy has selected a group of brilliant young researchers to attend this year's prestigious Lindau Nobel Laureates meeting in Germany.

After a highly competitive process, 13 young scientists working across physics, medicine and chemistry will be given the opportunity to to interact and learn from Nobel Laureates in their field.

The 65th Lindau Nobel Laureates meeting, to be held from 28 June to 3 July, will be the fourth interdisciplinary meeting bringing together Nobel Laureates and young scientists from across 88 countries.

Of the more than 70,000 young researchers who apply each year, only 700 are selected to attend.

Australian Nobel Prize winners Brian Schmidt, Peter Doherty, Elizabeth Blackburn and Robin Warren will be among 70 Nobel Laureates attending this year.

The young Australian scientists selected to attend are:

  • Amelia Parker, Children's Cancer Institute
  • Paul Berkman, CSIRO
  • Kang Liang, CSIRO
  • Eva Alvarez De Eulate, Curtin University
  • Mark Zammit, Curtin University
  • Bronson Phillipa, James Cook University
  • Elena Tucker, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute
  • Jiangbo (Tim) Zhao, University of Adelaide
  • Emma Beckett, University of Newcastle
  • Vipul Gupta, University of Tasmania
  • Tristan Clemons, University of Western Australia
  • Thomas Oon Han Loke, University of Western Australia
  • Louis Wang, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute

The chosen scientists are attending the event thanks to Fellowships from the Science and Industry Endowment Fund.

More information about the Lindau Nobel Laureates Meeting

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science