Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

Science and Industry Endowment Fund—Australian Academy of Science Fellowships to the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting with Nobel Laureates from the field of physiology or medicine

24-29 June 2018


Applications for the 2018 meeting are now closed. Applications for the 2019 meeting will open in August 2018. 

For more information on the Meetings of Nobel Laureates in Lindau please visit

Important notice

Nominations will be considered by an Australian Academy of Science selection panel and a maximum of 10 short-listed nominations will be recommended to the Council for Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings. The final decision regarding attendance at the 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting will be made by the Council for Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings. Decisions are based on the assessed competitiveness of the application. The Academy is not able to enter into discussion or correspondence regarding the reasons why an application is successful or not.

The Lindau Council Review Panel has previously rejected applicants who did not put sufficient effort in completing their profile and in providing information for the reviewers.

Terms of award

The successful candidates will receive a grant-in-aid from the Academy up to AUD6,750 (GST exclusive) towards the cost of:

  • an international return economy airfare from Australia to the international airport closest to Lindau (up to AUD3,500)
  • participation (including accommodation) in the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting (up to AUD3,250).

All successful candidates are expected to attend the full program of events of the 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting. Delegates will need to arrive in Lindau before the opening ceremony on Sunday 24 June 2018 and depart after the close of the program on Friday 29 June 2018. Delegates will then have the opportunity to take part in a 3-day site visit tour of relevant laboratories and businesses in Germany, concluding on the morning of July 5 2018. The tour is also funded by the Science and Industry Endowment Fund.

In addition, successful candidates are invited and expected to attend Science at the Shine Dome, an annual celebration of science held at the Academy of Science in Canberra, 21-24 May 2018. This will involve a briefing for the selected young scientists by Fellows of the Academy prior to the Lindau meeting. A travel grant of up to $500 will be provided by the Academy to assist with travel and accommodation costs. The registration fee, including attendance at specific Early Career Researcher events, is covered by the Australian Academy of Science.

The program does not provide funds for bench fees, managerial, insurance or visa costs.


Ideal applicants will demonstrate a strong commitment to their principal field of studies and to interdisciplinary work, for example by double degrees or interdisciplinary projects.

The application must be submitted by the Research Office (or equivalent) of the institution. Each institution is limited to applying for two grants on behalf of two early career researchers. Eligible institutions include Australian universities, Australian publicly-funded research organisations and research-focused institutions. Students are asked to submit their applications to their relevant research office for selection. Submissions directly from students to the Academy will not be considered.

  1. Applications are open to eligible Australian-based early career researchers, specifically:
    • applicants currently enrolled in a research higher degree* at an Australian University
    • applicants who have (1) undertaken a research higher degree* and the applicant’s most recent higher degree has been conferred for less than three years and are (2) working in an Australian university, Australian publicly-funded research organisation or research-focused institution.
      The above must be current at the date of the Lindau Meeting. Please note that selection will favour applicants currently undertaking doctoral studies or postdoctoral fellowships.
      *Master of Philosophy (MPhil), Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) or a Postdoctoral Fellowship.
  2. Applicants must be aged 35 years or younger at the time of the meeting.
  3. Applicants will not hold a permanent position (in particular professorships).

Reporting requirements

Successful applicants will be required to submit a report and provide evidence demonstrating that the funds have been appropriately expended within one month of the completion of the meeting.

Materials to be submitted

  • Application form
  • Curriculum vitae (maximum two pages)
  • Recent publication list, including conference presentations (maximum two pages)
  • Letter of recommendation from your academic advisor or internationally renowned scientist, including the specialist scientific expertise of the referee. A strong letter of support which highlights achievements such as academic excellence, conference publications, tutoring experience, awards received, print publications, extra-curricular activities and any other items of note specific to you is essential.

Applicants are to submit all documentation to their relevant research offices to be considered for nomination.

Research offices please return the nomination forms and supporting documentation via email to

More information

For more information, contact:

Phone: +61(0)2 6201 9484

National Committees
Australian Academy of Science
GPO Box 783
Canberra ACT 2601

This project is supported by the Science and Industry Endowment Fund.

Past meetings

Important note regarding diversity of the Australian Lindau delegation
The Australian Academy of Science strives for gender equity in science and considers both scientific excellence and a range of diversity issues including gender balance in the selection of the SIEF-AAS Fellows. However, the final selection of attendees is at the discretion of the Lindau Nobel Laureates Meetings committee. To learn more about the Academy’s efforts to address gender equity in the STEMM sector, please visit The SAGE initiative. It should be noted that the Academy has an Equity and Diversity Reference Group.

© 2018 Australian Academy of Science