Future Earth Australia—About Us

Future Earth Australia is overseen by a steering committee comprising representatives of member organisations and broader community representatives. The Executive Committee of the Australian Academy of Science’s Council provides high level oversight. The Future Earth Australia advisory council includes thought-leaders and influencers in Australian sustainability.

Subscribe to the Future Earth Australia mailing list

Our team

The Future Earth Australia Secretariat is led by Director Tayanah O’Donnell, together with Dr Jo Banks and Sarah Crowe

Steering committee

Members of the steering committee include:

  • Professor Karen Hussey, Centre for Policy Futures, University of Queensland (Co-chair)
  • Dr Mark Stafford Smith, CSIRO (Co-chair)
  • Dr John Finnigan FAA, Chair, National Committee for Earth System Science
  • Professor Lesley Hughes, Department of Biological Sciences, Macquarie University
  • Professor Iain McCalman AO FAHA FASSA, Sydney Environment Institute, University of Sydney
  • Professor Jago Dodson, RMIT University
  • Professor Brett Bryan, Deakin University
  • Dr Jessa Rogers, University of New England
  • Mr Adrian Enright, Qantas Group Corporate Partnerships Manager
  • Dr Lorraine Stephenson FTSE
  • Dr Hamish Clarke, University of Wollongong

Advisory council

Members of the advisory council include:

  • Professor Ian Chubb AC FAA FACE FTSE, Chair (Former Chief Scientist of Australia)
  • Professor Kate Auty (ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment and a Professorial Fellow with the University of Melbourne)
  • Mr Howard Bamsey (Executive Director Green Climate Fund)
  • Mr Simon Corbell (Former ACT Minister for Environment and Climate Change)
  • Mr Adam Fennessy (Partner at EY and former Secretary Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning, Victoria)
  • Ms Penelope Figgis AO (Vice Chair, for Oceania of the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas)
  • Ms Virginia Haussegger AM (Director 50/50 by 2030 Foundation Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis (IGPA), University of Canberra
  • Ms Emma Herd (CEO Investor Group on Climate Change)
  • Mr Dermot O'Gorman (CEO World Wildlife Fund –Australia)
  • Professor Will Steffen (Emeritus Professor at the Australian National University (ANU), Senior Fellow at the Stockholm Resilience Centre, Sweden)
  • Ms Angharad Wyne-Jones (Head of Participation at Arts Centre Melbourne)

If you wish to contact Dr Tayanah O’Donnell, Director of Future Earth Australia, email her at tayanah.odonnell@science.org.au
For all other general enquiries please fill in the form below.

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

© 2019 Australian Academy of Science