The Academy

The Australian Academy of Science champions, celebrates and supports excellence in Australian science, promotes international scientific engagement, builds public awareness and understanding of science and provides independent, authoritative and influential scientific advice.

The Academy is a not-for-profit organisation of individuals elected for their outstanding contributions to science and research. It was founded on 16 February 1954 by Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London with the distinguished physicist Sir Mark Oliphant as founding President. It was granted a Royal Charter establishing the Academy as an independent body with government endorsement.

The Academy's Constitution was modelled on that of the Royal Society of London. It receives government grants towards some of its activities but has no statutory obligation to government.

The Academy strives to support and promote science through a range of programs and activities. It has four major program areas:

  • championing, celebrating and supporting excellence in Australian science 
  • promoting Australia's international scientific engagement
  • building public awareness and understanding of science
  • providing independent, authoritative and influential scientific advice

Strategic plan

Read about the Academy's vision and objectives through our strategic plan.

The President

The President of the Academy is Professor Andrew Holmes. In this section you'll meet our current and past Presidents.


The Academy is located in Canberra, in the Heritage listed Shine Dome and Ian Potter House. Read about the buildings' architecture and history, and how to hire the Dome for your event.

© 2018 Australian Academy of Science