Past medallists

Listed below are details of past recipients of the Academy Medal, dating back to 2006.

2022 Academy Medal

The Hon Kim Carr

The Hon Kim Carr

Kim Carr retired as Victoria's longest serving Senator (from 1993 to 2022) and as one of the most significant Ministers of Science in recent decades. His Parliamentary service included Ministerial appointments in Cabinet as Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (2007-2011 and 2013), Minister for Higher Education (2013), Minister for Manufacturing (2011-2012), Minister for Defence Materiel (2011-2012), and Minister for Human Services (2012-2013). He committed a great deal of his political life, in Government and in Opposition, advocating for, and defending, public good research, science and technology and education. He is currently a Vice Chancellor's Professorial Fellow at Monash University, providing strategic advice and expertise to advance partnerships with local and global industries, focusing on the development of the Monash Technology Precinct.

2019 Academy Medal

Dr Megan Clark

Dr Megan Clark AC FTSE

Dr Clark has led innovation in Australian science. Her ambitious leadership of the Australian Space Agency is making exciting waves in space research and future space exploration. Starting as a mine and exploration geologist, she subsequently worked in R&D management, venture capital and technical strategy. Megan is currently a director of Rio Tinto, CSL Limited and CARE Australia and recently chaired the Expert Working Group into the Review of Australia’s Space Industry Capability. She was the first female chief executive of CSIRO and in 2014 was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia for eminent service to scientific research and development.

Mr Peter Yates

Mr Peter Yates AM FTSE FAICD

Mr Yates serves as chairman, board director and senior executive for several prominent Australian corporate, media and community organisations. In 2005 Peter helped found the Australian Science Media Centre and later the Royal Institution of Australia. His objective was to change the way Australia looked at science, something he continues to pursue. In 2011 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for service to education, the financial services industry and a range of arts, science and charitable organisations.

2016 Academy Medal

Professor Ian Chubb

Professor Ian Chubb AC FAA FACE FTSE

Professor Chubb has dedicated his life to science in Australia as our Chief Scientist, as Vice-Chancellor of the Australian National University, Vice-Chancellor of Flinders University and as President of the International Alliance of Research Universities. He is a champion of research who has worked tirelessly to ensure science enhances the lives of all Australians, be it through innovative technology, informed policy or a scientifically-literate public. Ian’s other accolades and awards include being named 2011 ACT Australian of the Year, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, and a Companion of the Order of Australia for services to higher education.

2014 Academy Medal

Emeritus Professor Harry Messel

Emeritus Professor Harry Messel AC CBE

Physics Foundation

Professor Messel is awarded the Academy Medal in recognition of his conspicuous and enduring service to the cause of science in Australia, which has included innovative scientific leadership through the establishment of the Physics Foundation at the University of Sydney (the first such foundation in Australia), his vision for secondary school science education and the resulting series of textbooks, and the establishment of his International Science Schools.

Simon McKeon

Simon McKeon AO FAICD

Executive Chairman of Macquarie Group’s Melbourne Office

Simon McKeon is a prominent business leader and philanthropist who has made extensive contributions to Australian science and innovation. The 2011 Australian of the Year’s many appointments include Chairman of the CSIRO Board since 2010, Foundation Chairman, and now Patron, of Multiple Sclerosis Research Australia, Chair of In2Science, and member of the inaugural Bio21 Australia Board. Simon has championed informed debate on climate change, and provided inspiring leadership in the community sector, especially in the areas of health and disability.

2010 Academy Medal

Dr Peter Pockley

Dr Peter Pockley

Senior Correspondent for Australasian Science magazine

Peter Pockley is Australia's pioneer science writer, broadcaster and commentator. He established specialist reporting of science in the Australian media in 1964, leading teams and fronting programs which transformed the medium. He remains an independent reporter and commentator, contributing to a wide range of media including the ABC, SBS TV and major newspapers around the country. His authoritative work is characterised by flair and rigorous accuracy.

2008 Academy Medal

Professor Susan Wyber Serjeantson

Professor Susan Wyber Serjeantson

Executive Secretary, Australian Aacdemy of Science

Professor Sue Serjeantson is awarded the Academy Medal in recognition of her outstanding contribution to Australian Science during her role as Executive Secretary of the Academy. As Academy Executive Secretary for seven years, she oversaw the expansion of Academy activities in areas including the education, international and policy programs.

2006 Academy Medal

Professor Michael Gore

Professor Michael Gore

Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, Australian National University, Canberra.

Professor Michael Gore is awarded the Academy Medal in recognition of his outstanding contribution to Australian Science through his establishment and leadership of the Questacon National Science Centre that has been an exemplar for the creation of other science museums, nationally and internationally.

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science