Outstanding researcher nominated for APEC prize

Australian ASPIRE winner Dr Katharine Haynes (left) and finalist Dr Hannah Power (second from right), with Mrs Karen Andrews and Professor Rose Amal (right). Absent: Dr Jaclyn Brown.

An outstanding early career researcher from Macquarie University, Dr Katharine Haynes, has been nominated for the 2015 APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education—known as ASPIRE.

The Academy began the search for Australia’s nomination to the prestigious prize earlier this year. Five applications were submitted to the Academy, with the final decision being made by the Department of Industry and Science.

The top three applicants—Dr Haynes, Dr Hannah Power of Newcastle University and Dr Jaclyn Brown of CSIRO—received a certificate and a prize of $2,000, with the winner being announced by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Industry and Science, the Hon Karen Andrews MP, at an award ceremony in May. Professor Rose Amal FAA FTSE represented the Academy at the event. 

The nomination theme this year was ‘Disaster risk reduction: Understanding the role of climate change and variability’—with a focus on innovative technologies that may help economies adapt to the changing climate, protect the natural environment and build resilient and sustainable societies.

Dr Haynes was recognised for her work in community and youth-based disaster risk reduction and communication and for using science to improve policies and organisational procedures.

Her research has spanned the full gamut of natural disasters, including bushfires, heatwaves, cyclones, floods, tsunamis and volcanic eruptions. She has also collaborated with academics and emergency management practitioners from other APEC economies including Indonesia, Japan, New Zealand, the Philippines and the US.

The two runners-up were recognised for their scientific excellence and commitment to improving disaster resilience.

More about the ASPIRE 2015 prize winner

Funding for this program was provided by the Department of Industry and Science.

Academy Newsletter Issue 100

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science