Honours and awards to Fellows

From left: Joss Bland-Hawthorn, C Jagadish and Philip Kuchel

CSL Florey Medal

Professor Perry Bartlett FAA—for his discoveries that have transformed our understanding of the brain, and for his leadership of neuroscience in Australia.

WH (Beattie) Steel Medal

Professor Joss Bland-Hawthorn FAA—awarded by the Australian Optical Society in recognition of his leadership and significant contribution to the field of optics, particularly in the application of photonics to astronomical and space instrumentation.

Australian Financial Review Business Person of the Year 2015

Catherine Livingstone AO FAA

US National Academy of Inventors (NAI)

Professor Andrew Holmes AM PresAA FRS FTSE and Professor C Jagadish AC FAA FTSE—elected as Fellows. Election to NAI Fellowship status is accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.

Friendship Award from the Chinese Government

Nobel Laureate Professor Barry Marshall AC FAA FRS—awarded to acknowledge and commend outstanding foreign experts for their great contributions to China’s social development and economic, scientific, technological, educational and cultural construction.

2016 Australia Day Honours

Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)

Professor C Jagadish AC FAA FTSE for eminent service to physics and engineering, particularly in the field of nanotechnology, to education as a leading academic, researcher, author and mentor, and through executive roles with national and international scientific advisory institutions.

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Professor Marilyn Anderson AO FAA FTSE for distinguished service to science, to higher education (particularly to biochemistry and molecular biology) as an academic and researcher, and to professional associations.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Professor Philip Kuchel AM FAA for significant service to science (in the field of biochemistry, as an academic, author and researcher), and to professional organisations.

Professor Gustav Lehrer AM FAA for significant service to tertiary mathematics education (as an academic and researcher), and to professional and community groups.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science