Honours and awards to Fellows

Queen's Birthday honours

Former Academy President Professor Brian Anderson and polymers pioneer Professor David Solomon have been recognised with Australia's highest honour, Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia, in the 2016 Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Professor Anderson AC FAFA FRS FTSE received the award for eminent services to information and communications technology, to engineering and higher education, as an academic, researcher and author, to professional scientific associations and as a mentor of young scientists.

Professor Solomon AC FAA FRS FTSE was recognised for eminent service to science in the field of polymer chemistry and plastics, and to professional scientific institutions.

Fellows recognised as Officers in the General Division of the Order of Australia were:

  • Academy Vice President Dr TJ Higgins AO FAA FTSE for services to agricultural biotechnology
  • Professor Nalini Joshi AO FAA, for distinguished service to mathematical science and tertiary education, as a role model and mentor of young mathematicians
  • Professor Doug Hilton AO FAA FTSE, for distinguished service to medical research and education, and to gender equity and mentoring
  • Professor John White AO FAA FRS for distinguished service to chemistry and for leadership of Synchrotron and neutron science projects in Australia and the Asia-Oceania region.

Fellows recognised as Members in the General Division of the Order of Australia were:

  • Academy Council Member Professor Sue O'Reilly AM FAA for significant service to the earth sciences
  • Professor Denis Evans AM FAA for significant services to chemistry and tertiary education.

‚ÄčThe late Professor Michael Raupach AO FAA FTSE received a posthumous award for distinguished service to science in Australia and internationally as a leader in climate change research.

Other honours and awards

(from left) Professor Hugh Possingham, Professor Paul Burn, Professor Jamie Rossjohn and Professor Peter Waterhouse.

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science