New council to advise PM on science

Left to right: Brian Schmidt, Nalini Joshi, Tanya Monro, Ian Frazer and Catherine Livingstone.

Five eminent Australian scientists and five prominent Australian business people were appointed to the Prime Minister’s new high-level science advisory body, the Commonwealth Science Council, in October.

Five of the appointees are Fellows of the Academy: Professors Brian Schmidt AC FAA FRS, Nalini Joshi FAA, Tanya Monro FAA FTSE and Ian Frazer AC FAA FRS, and Ms Catherine Livingstone AO FAA. The council will help provide strategic and evidence-based advice for guiding Australia’s approach to science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The new council replaces the former Prime Minister’s Science, Innovation and Engineering Council, which had not met for 18 months, and will be chaired by the Prime Minister and attended by other ministers with responsibilities for science in their portfolios.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science