Honours and awards to Fellows

Graeme Clark and Rana Munns
Graeme Clark; Rana Munns

2015 Russ Prize for bioengineering

Professor Graeme Clark AC FAA FRS FTSE—the first Australian to receive the prestigious Russ Prize for bioengineering, awarded by the National Academy of Engineering and Ohio University.

2014 George Szekeres Medal

Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA—the first woman to receive the Australian Mathematical Society’s award for an outstanding contribution to the mathematical sciences in the 15 years prior to the year of the award.

2014 Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal

Professor Alan Cowman FAA FRS—awarded for outstanding contributions to understanding how the malaria parasite causes disease and for his search for potential malaria vaccines.

The World Academy of Sciences

Professor Rana Munns FAA—elected to the World Academy of Sciences as a Fellow in the field of Agriculture; will be admitted at the Academy’s 26th General Meeting in 2015.

Professor Kurt Lambeck receives a Knighthood from the Italian Republic

Kurt Lambek and Pier Francesco Zazo
Professor Kurt Lambeck receiving his Knighthood from the Italian Ambassador Pier Francesco Zazo.

Professor Kurt Lambeck AO FAA FRS, former President of the Academy, received The Order of Merit of the Italian Republic with the Class of Knight in recognition of his extraordinary scientific merits and enthusiastic support of scientific relations between Australia and Italy.

The Award was officially conferred on 12 February by Italian Ambassador, His Excellency Mr Pier Francesco Zazo at a private dinner at the Ambassador’s residence. Guests included Professor Lambeck’s wife, Mrs Meg Lambeck, and Academy Fellow, Nobel Laureate Professor Brian Schmidt AC FAA FRS.

© 2019 Australian Academy of Science