Science at the Shine Dome celebrates great Australian science

June 25, 2018

The Academy’s celebration of science held in May each year, Science at the Shine Dome, saw 400 attendees hear from 57 speakers over three days.

The event kicked off with the Academy’s annual symposium, which looked at the role of science in predicting, mitigating, responding to and recovering from natural hazards and weather events. The first day also saw 21 new Fellows admitted to the Academy in recognition of their work in science.

On Day Two, the Academy’s newly elected Fellows presented their science, starting with Dr Alan Andersen, the world’s leading ant community ecologist and the first Fellow from the Northern Territory. Attendees also heard how materials scientist, Professor Veena Sahajwalla, is revolutionising recycling.

The red carpet (which was actually Academy blue) was rolled out on Wednesday evening with the Academy's annual gala dinner. Writer and broadcaster Virginia Haussegger interviewed 2018 Australian of the Year, Professor Michelle Simmons FAA, about her science career so far and the quest to build a quantum computer.

The gala dinner also saw the launch of the Academy’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Scientist Travelling Research Award. The award recognises research in the natural sciences by outstanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander PhD students and early- and mid-career scientists.

The final day saw outgoing President, Professor Andrew Holmes AC PresAA FRS FTSE, give his final President’s address. He was also interviewed by Academy Fellow Robyn Williams about his time as President. The interview was broadcast on ABC’s The Science Show.

On the final day of the event, 15 researchers received highly sought-after honours for outstanding achievements in early- and mid-career research or across a lifetime of work. Associate Professor Tracy Ainsworth from James Cook University received the Dorothy Hill Medal for her research, which has improved our understanding of how stress responses and diseases occur in corals. More about the recipients of the Academy’s 2018 awards.

Videos on each of the 2018 New Fellows and Honorific award winners are available on the Academy’s YouTube channel.

You can also see and share photos from the event (please credit Australian Academy of Science).

Event partners

The Academy is grateful to the following organisations that partnered with us to make Science at the Shine Dome 2018 such a successful event.

Platinum Partner

  • Science and Technology, Department of Defence

Gold Partners

  • University of Melbourne
  • Australian National University

Silver Partners

  • Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
  • University of Queensland


  • Monash University

Gala Dinner Partner

  • University of South Australia

Parent and Carer Partner

  • University of Sydney

Symposium Partner—Platinum

  • Bushire and Natural Hazards CRC

Symposium Partners—Gold

  • Bureau of Meteorology
  • UNSW Sydney

Symposium Partners—Silver

  • QUT
  • Cyclone Testing Station, James Cook University

Venue Partner

  • National Gallery of Australia

Wine Partner

  • Jirra Wines at Jeir Station

Coffee Partner

  • NCI Australia

EMCR Luncheon Partner

  • ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science

EMCR Partners

  • Macquarie University
  • James Cook University
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Western Australia
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • Telethon Kids Institute
  • Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
  • Griffith University Institute for Glycomics
  • Centre of Excellence for Environmental Decisions
  • Curtin University

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science