Australian Academy of Science Newsletter 128

Message from the Chief Executive

Over the past month, we have celebrated scientific excellence at all levels and in all its forms.

Queen's Birthday honours for seven Academy Fellows

Fellows receive accolades for their work and service to science, with mentoring an important part of their recognition.

Recipients of EMCR mobility grants for France and Europe announced

These grants will strengthen international research networks by supporting Australian EMCRs to travel to France and Europe.

Academy welcomes new leaders for communication and diversity

The Academy has established a new role in the Secretariat to address diversity and inclusion.

Academy Fellow's visit to Latin America strengthens ties

Professor Jenny Graves AO FAA travelled to Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico in May.

Academy hosts inaugural Science at the Shine Dome Junior

The event brought together 84 Year 2 students and their teachers from 10 schools across the Canberra-Queanbeyan region.

EMCR experience enhanced by expanded program at Science at the Shine Dome

The Academy’s flagship event attracted more than 70 early- and mid-career researchers from across Australia in 2019.

Academy sponsors international EMCRs at Science at the Shine Dome

Two EMCRs from South-East Asia visited Canberra with the support of the Academy.

Join Future Earth Australia to discuss ‘The future of coasts’

Future Earth Australia is hosting its first 2019 event for early-career researchers and practitioners.

Academy hosts meeting to develop national FAIR data strategy

Roundtable progresses Australian moves towards CODATA’s initiatives to make research data FAIR: findable, assessable, interoperable and reusable.

Changing lives with virtual reality, artificial intelligence and robots

A 'hypothetical' on climate change: the science and the law

Opportunities for scientists

  • Falling Walls Lab Australia 2019—applications close 11 July!
  • Nominations for Fellowship
  • Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation
  • Victoria Fellowships
  • 2019 Metcalf Prizes for Stem Cell Research
  • 2020 Australian of the Year Awards
  • Millennium Technology Prize

Fellows update

  • Honours and awards to Fellows
  • Obituaries for Dr Bruce Fraser and Professor Joseph Sambrook

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science