Australian Academy of Science Newsletter 114

Message from the Chief Executive

Encourage women and men to apply for the Academy’s awards, which are open now, and join us at Science at the Shine Dome in May.

Global science leaders call for further action on climate change

The Academy has joined Commonwealth of Nations science leaders to call on the Commonwealth Heads of Government to use the best available science to guide action on climate change.

Next generation of top researchers to represent Australia on global stage

Eight rising stars of Australian science have been selected to attend the Lindau gathering of Nobel Laureates and promising young scientists from around the world.

2019 Academy awards and grants now open

Nominations and applications for the Academy's 2019 honorific awards, research conferences, research grants and travelling fellowships are now open.

Scholarship supports Indigenous scientists to meet parliamentarians

Three Indigenous scientists attended the annual Science Meets Parliament event with assistance from a scholarship supported by the Academy.

Photovoltaics leader tours Australia and New Zealand as Frew Fellow

The Academy’s 2017 Frew Fellow, Professor Albert Polman, toured and lectured in Australia and New Zealand over three months recently.

Social media interest in Academy continues to grow

Coming events

  • Science at the Shine Dome
  • The science of us
  • Urban sustainability and conservation
  • Diversify your thinking
  • Molecular design and synthesis

Opportunities for scientists

  • APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE)
  • Falling Walls Lab Australia 2018
  • Visit to the National Institutes of Health in the USA by a junior scientist
  • Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science
  • Australian Museum Eureka Prizes
  • Young Tall Poppy Science Awards
  • 2018 TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize
  • KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award
  • International Prize for Biology
  • Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science

Fellows update

  • Honours and awards

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science