Opportunities for scientists—March 2022

March 31, 2022

Academy opportunities

Nominations are now open for the Academy’s 2023 honorific awards, research conferences, research awards and travelling fellowships.

Each year, the Australian Academy of Science shines a light on researchers who have made outstanding contributions to science, and in progressing the advancement of science in Australia, by awarding our prestigious honorific awards.

The awards recognise remarkable achievements in research fields including Earth sciences, biology, physics, mathematics, chemistry, biomedicine and more. 

The closing date for honorific award nominations is 1 May 2022.

The closing date to apply for research conferences, research awards and travelling fellowships is 1 June 2022. 

Find out more about the Academy’s awards, including how to nominate or apply.

For further information on the 2023 award round, please download the awards fact sheet (PDF, 1.28MB).

External opportunities

Breakthrough Prizes

Prizes in Mathematics, Life Sciences and Fundamental Physics.

More information on the Breakthrough Prizes

Applications close 1 April 2022

International Prize for Biology

Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of research in biology of fishes – JP ¥10 million

More information on the International Prize for Biology

Applications close 8 April 2022  

TÜBA Academy Prizes

TÜBA Academy Prizes are annually awarded to the nominated scientists in Basic and Engineering Sciences, and Health and Life Sciences – US $30,000.

More information on the TÜBA Academy Prizes

Applications close 15 April 2022

Tall Poppy Science Awards

The awards were created to recognise and celebrate Australian intellectual and scientific excellence and to encourage younger Australians to follow in the footsteps of our outstanding achievers. Nominees must have graduated with their PhD between three and ten years of the nomination closing date.

More information on the Tall Poppy Science Awards

Applications close 19 April 2022

The Jian Zhou Medal

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences Jian Zhou Medal is awarded annually to a rising star of Australian health and medical science who is making a significant impact in translational medical science, primarily working in Australia. The Medal is awarded at the Academy’s annual meeting each October and recipients receive financial support for their travel costs to enable them to attend.

More information on the Jian Zhou Medal

Applications close 30 April 2022

Le Grand Prix de la Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie

Rewards an original work in chemistry, of benefit to mankind, society or nature – €35,000

More information on Le Grand Prix de la Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie   

Applications close 30 April 2022

NSW Physical Sciences Fund

The Physical Sciences Fund (PSF) is a competitive development and commercialisation program for technological innovations in NSW. The PSF is a $5 million fund that aims to deliver significant social, economic and environmental benefits to NSW by providing financial support for the development of new and innovative devices and systems within NSW, across the branches of the physical sciences and engineering, including physics, chemistry, astronomy and the earth sciences.

More information on the NSW Physical Sciences Fund

Applications close on 2 May 2022

Australian Museum Eureka Prize

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes honour excellence across the areas of research & innovation, leadership, science engagement, and school science.

More information on the Australian Museum Eureka Prize

Applications close 7pm AEST 6 May 2022

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize

Awarded to scientists living and working in the developing countries for outstanding scientific achievements in engineering sciences – US $100,000

More information on the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize

Applications close 18 May 2022

Premi Ramon Margalef d'Ecologia

The purpose of this international award is to recognise people all over the world who have distinguished themselves in the field of ecological science.

More information on the Premi Ramon Margalef d'Ecologia   

Applications close on 20 May 2022

Prince Mahidol Award 

Awarded to individual(s) or institutions(s) for their outstanding performance and/or research in medicine that contributes directly to the betterment of society. There will be one award in medicine and one in public health – US $100,000

More information on the Prince Mahidol Award  

Applications close on 31 May 2022

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science