Australian Academy of Science Newsletter 127

Message from the President

Diversity and inclusion are key to our future. The Academy’s Fellowship must be diverse in every way.

Australia's top scientists elected as Fellows of the Academy

The new Fellows' pioneering contributions span nutrition, neuroscience and pure mathematics, among other disciplines.

Academy celebrates great Australian science at the Shine Dome

The Academy’s premiere annual event brought together more than 500 attendees for a three-day event featuring 36 speakers.

Support diversity and inclusion in Australian science

The Academy is seeking support in its goal to ensure that excellent Australian researchers are recognised for their contributions.

Australia's leading scientists look to the future with the Morrison Government

The Academy will work with the Government to ensure the economy and workforce can benefit from advances in science and technology.

Scientists to work across the Morrison Ministry to ensure science informs policy development

The Academy welcomes the reappointment of the Hon Karen Andrews to Cabinet as the Minister for Industry, Science and Technology.

Celebrating the iconic Shine Dome’s 60th birthday

Sixty years ago, on 6 May 1959, the Shine Dome was officially opened as the home of the Australian Academy of Science.

Academy Fellow elected to United States National Academy of Sciences

Professor Jenny Graves AO FAA is one of 125 scientists recently elected to the United States National Academy of Sciences (NAS).

Australian scientist in the running for APEC Science Prize

Dr Nicholas Murray will compete with 20 other scientists from APEC economies for the award.

'Role models count'—students inspired by Australia’s top scientists

Ten of New South Wales’ brightest science students converged on Canberra to meet leading Australian scientists.

Applications open for Falling Walls Lab 2019

Influence and impact of Academy stronger than ever

New Theo Murphy Initiative opportunities for EMCRs

Help kickstart creativity in competition that blends science and art in schools

Join us to hear how AI and VR are changing lives

Opportunities for scientists

  • Florey Medal 2019
  • 2020 Australian of the Year Awards
  • Millennium Technology Prize

Fellows update

  • Honours and awards to Fellows
  • Obituary for Professor Jack Pettigrew

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science