Fellows update—September 2018

September 26, 2018

Honours and awards to Fellows

Eureka prize winners (from left) Nalini Joshi, Thomas Maschmeyer and Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop

Professor Nalini Joshi AO FAA—2018 University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers 

Professor Thomas Maschmeyer FAA FTSE—2018 CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science

Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop AO FAA—2018 UNSW Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research

Professor Terry Hughes FAA—Royal Society of Canada 2018 A.G. Huntsman Medal in recognition of his innovative science for sustainable management of coral reef biodiversity

Professor Ross McPhedran FAA—Rolf Landauer Medal for research excellence in the field of composite science (shared with Professor Ping Sheng, Hong Kong)

Professor Louise Ryan FAA—Statistical Society of Australia Pitman Medal, for outstanding achievement in and contribution to the discipline of statistics

Professor Marcello Costa FAA—Federation of Neurogastroenterology and Motility (FNM) Lifetime Achievement Award for advancing the entire field, and such advances have been recognised by all the societies of the World Federation of Neurogastroenterology and Motility.


Dr Angus McEwan FAA FTSE
20 July 1937 to 5 September 2018

Dr Angus McEwan.

Dr Angus McEwan was an engineer and aerodynamicist, elected to the Academy in 1982 for his pioneering studies in electrohydrodynamics and in viscous free surface phenomena. His work was characterised by an interactive blend of mathematical and physical insights which gave his investigations a totality and scientific unity very rarely achieved by one individual.

Dr McEwan was Chief of CSIRO’s new Division of Oceanography (in Hobart) from 1981 until 1995 and was then appointed Senior Science Advisor to the Commonwealth Bureau of Meteorology from 1995 to 2005. In addition to his research, and several roles in the advancement of Australian marine science, Angus was active in the UNESCO Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC). He served in a number of capacities including Australian delegate to the; member and then chairman of the IOC Committee on Climatic Changes and the Ocean; representative of the Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS) steering committee; chairman of the Intergovernmental GOOS committee; and chair of the Oceanographic Data Exchange Policy group.

Angus was also actively involved in the Academy. He served on several of the Academy’s National Committees responsible for oceanic sciences, atmospheric sciences and climate and sectional committees, award committees, the International Geosphere-biosphere Program and the Academy’s International Relations committee. Angus also served on the Academy’s Council from 1997 to 2000. Angus was interviewed by Dr Trevor McDougall FAA in 2011 and a transcript is available on the Academy’s website.

‘A Celebration of Life’ memorial for Angus will be held on 27 October 2018, from 12.30pm at Turnbull Funerals, 71 Letitia Street, North Hobart, Tasmania. Relatives, friends and former colleagues are warmly invited to attend. Please email fellowship@science.org.au if you wish to contact Angus’ family.

Honorary Editor sought for the newsletter

The Academy is seeking a Fellow with an interest in communicating our achievements and activities to take up the role of Honorary Editor of the Academy Newsletter.

The newsletter’s current Honorary Editor, Professor Hans Bachor, became the Academy’s Secretary Education and Public Awareness earlier this year, which brings with it significant responsibilities and time commitments.

The monthly email newsletter (11 per year) links to news items and media releases published on the Academy’s website in the previous four weeks or so. It also contains additional items of interest for Fellows and the nearly 3000 subscribers, including notifications of upcoming opportunities such as events, grants and awards.

The Honorary Editor checks the pre-publication draft for errors (minimal!) and suggests possible additional inclusions, if something has been missed. It’s not onerous, but a quick turnaround within a few days is appreciated.

If you are interested in finding out more, or would like to express your interest, please contact Robyn Diamond, Digital and Publishing Manager, on robyn.diamond@science.org.au or phone 02 6201 9415.

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science