Academy announces recipients of 2018 honorific awards

November 17, 2017
The Australian Academy of Science's 2018 honorific awardees

Outstanding contributions to science have been recognised by the Australian Academy of Science today with 18 of Australia’s leading scientists and future superstars receiving prestigious 2018 honorific awards.

The scientists’ discoveries cross the breadth of science, from the threat posed by the melting ice sheets of Greenland and Antarctica, to solving the mysteries of the universe and interpreting how disruptions of brain connectivity can lead to mental illness.

Professor David Cooke from the University of Tasmania has been awarded one of the top honours, the Academy’s Haddon Forrester King Medal and Lecture. Others recognised among the Academy’s lifetime achievement awards include Professor Douglas MacFarlane from Monash University, awarded the 2018 David Craig Medal. 

Mid-career researcher Dr Marie-Liesse Asselin-Labat, from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, has been awarded the 2018 Nancy Millis Medal for Women in Science. Associate Professor Tracy Ainsworth from James Cook University has been awarded the Dorothy Hill Medal. She is one of 10 early career researchers to be recognised in this year’s annual awards. 

Read more about the awardees and their research

Read the Academy's media release


Career honorifics (for lifelong achievement)

  • 2018 David Craig Medal—Professor Douglas MacFarlane FAA FTSE, Monash University
  • 2018 Haddon Forrester King Medal and Lecture—Professor David Cooke, University of Tasmania
  • 2018 Mawson Medal and Lecture—Professor Matt King, University of Tasmania
  • 2018 Ian Wark Medal and Lecture—Professor Calum Drummond, RMIT University
  • 2018 Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture—Professor Geoffrey Burnstock FAA FRS, University of Melbourne (previously announced)

Mid-career honorifics (8—15 years post-PhD)

  • 2018 Gustav Nossal Medal for Global Health—Professor Anushka Patel, UNSW Sydney
  • 2018 Jacques Miller Medal for Experimental Biomedicine—Professor Swaminathan Iyer, University of Western Australia
  • 2018 Nancy Millis Medal for Women in Science—Dr Marie-Liesse Asselin-Labat, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Early career honorifics (up to 10 years post-PhD)

  • 2018 John Booker Medal—Associate Professor Shanyong Wang, University of Newcastle
  • 2018 Frederick White Medal—Dr Alex Sen Gupta, UNSW Sydney
  • 2018 Christopher Heyde Medal—Dr Zdravko Botev, UNSW Sydney
  • 2018 Ruth Stephens Gani Medal—Dr Irina Voineagu, UNSW Sydney
  • 2018 Fenner Medal—Dr Ceridwen Fraser, Australian National University
  • 2018 Anton Hales Medal—Dr Rhodri Davies, Australian National University
  • 2018 Gottschalk Medal—Associate Professor Alex Fornito, Monash University
  • 2018 Pawsey Medal—Dr Paul Lasky, Monash University
  • 2018 Dorothy Hill Award—Associate Professor Tracy Ainsworth, James Cook University
  • 2018 Le Févre Medal—Associate Professor Amir Karton, University of Western Australia

The majority of the awards will be presented at the Academy’s annual signature science event, 'Science at the Shine Dome', on 24 May 2018.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science