Professor John Shine elected President of Academy

November 07, 2017
Professor John Shine AC has been elected President of the Australian Academy of Science.

Australian biochemist and molecular biologist Professor John Shine AC has been elected President of the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Shine became world-renowned for a series of discoveries he made between 1975 and 1985 that furthered our understanding of genes.

He cloned the first human hormone genes, and in the process developed sophisticated gene cloning techniques that helped transform the world of biotechnology.

In his earlier roles in the US biotechnology industry and as Chairman of CSL for the past six years, Professor Shine has a long standing commitment to the translation of research discoveries into advances in health care for the social and economic benefit of the community.

Professor Shine was elected to the Academy in 1994. The Academy’s home, previously known as Becker House, was named the Shine Dome in 2000 in recognition of a $1 million donation made by Professor Shine to help restore the building, one of the most iconic and distinctive in Australia.

Professor Shine was also Executive Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research from 1990 to 2012. He still runs his own lab at the institute, investigating the gene mutations responsible for inherited kidney disorders. 

Other Fellows elected to the Academy’s Council include:

  • Professor Elaine Sadler—Foreign Secretary
  • Professor Hans Bachor AM—Secretary Education and Public Awareness
  • Professor Wendy Hoy AO—Member (Biological Sciences)
  • Professor Marilyn Anderson AO—Member (Biological Sciences)
  • Professor Frances Separovic—Member (Physical Sciences)
  • Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop—Member (Physical Sciences)

Positions will commence after the AGM at the Academy’s annual signature science event ‘Science at the Shine Dome’ on 24 May 2018.

Read the Academy's media release about the announcement

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science