Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal


Nominations will open in early 2020 for the 2021 award.


The Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal commemorates the contribution of Sir Thomas Ranken Lyle, FRS, to Australian science and industry generally and in particular to his own fields of physics and mathematics. The purpose of the medal is to recognise outstanding achievement by a scientist in Australia for research in mathematics or physics.

Research carried out in countries other than Australia may be taken into consideration if the researcher has spent three of the last five years in Australia. Work carried out during the whole of the candidate's career may be taken into consideration but special weight will be given to recent work. The award is normally made every two years.

The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

NB: Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy award, the second award must be for a distinct, additional, body of work undertaken since the first award, and/or work in a different field.



Awarded by the ANRC

  • 1953—J.L. Pawsey
  • 1951—T.M. Cherry
  • 1949—K.E. Bullen
  • 1947—J.C. Jaeger; D.F. Martyn
  • 1941—G.H. Briggs; T.G . Room
  • 1935—J.R. Wilton

© 2019 Australian Academy of Science