Nancy Millis Medal for Women in Science


Nominations for the 2021 awards will open in early 2020.
​Referee reports for the 2020 nomination round are due by 9:00am (AEST) 1 June 2019.



Nancy Millis

The Nancy Millis Medal of the Australian Academy of Science has been established to honour the contributions made to science by the late Professor Nancy Millis AC MBE FAA FTSE and recognises her importance as a role model for women aspiring to be research leaders.

The award is open to female mid-career researchers, eight to fifteen years post-PhD in the calendar year of nomination except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career, in any branch of the natural sciences. Recipients will have established an independent research program and demonstrated exceptional leadership.

The award is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia.

The Academy acknowledges the funding received from friends and colleagues of Professor Millis and the perpetual funding received from The University of Melbourne.

The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

NB: Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early-career or a mid-career honorific award. A mid-career honorific award recipient will also not be eligible for nomination for another mid-career honorific award. Fellows of the Academy are ineligible to be nominated for early and mid-career awards.

The medal is made by the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra, and was designed by Mr Michael Meszaros.


Principal partner

University of Melbourne

Founding donors

The Academy would like to thank the following founding donors for their generous support of the Nancy Millis Medal:

  • J A Angus
  • E S Dennis
  • S Cory
  • I D Gust
  • E Hartland
  • A B Holmes
  • P Y Ladiges
  • J A Pittard
  • R Roush

© 2019 Australian Academy of Science