Future Earth Australia is overseen by a steering committee of industry leaders and research experts with an advisory council of thought-leaders and influencers in Australian sustainability. The Executive Committee of the Australian Academy of Science’s Council provides high level oversight.

Steering committee

Members of the steering committee include:

  • Dr Mark Stafford Smith, CSIRO (Co-chair)
  • Professor Karen Hussey, Centre for Policy Futures, University of Queensland (Co-chair)
  • Dr John Finnigan FAA, Chair, National Committee for Earth System Science
  • Ms Megan Flynn, Qantas Group Manager Environment and Carbon Strategy
  • Professor Lesley Hughes, Department of Biological Sciences, Macquarie University
  • Professor Iain McCalman AO FAHA FASSA, Sydney Environment Institute, University of Sydney
  • Assistant Professor Jessa Rogers, University of Canberra
  • Dr Lorraine Stephenson FTSE
  • Dr Hamish Clarke, University of Woolongong, Early and Mid-Career Researchers Forum (EMCR) representative

Advisory council

Members of the advisory council include:

  • Professor Ian Chubb AC FAA FACE FTSE, Chair (Former Chief Scientist of Australia)
  • Professor Kate Auty (ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment and a Professorial Fellow with the University of Melbourne)
  • Mr Howard Bamsey (Executive Director Green Climate Fund)
  • Mr Simon Corbell (Former ACT Minister for Environment and Climate Change)
  • Mr Adam Fennessy (Partner at EY and former Secretary Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning, Victoria)
  • Ms Penelope Figgis AO (Vice Chair, for Oceania of the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas)
  • Ms Virginia Haussegger AM (Director 50/50 by 2030 Foundation Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis (IGPA), University of Canberra
  • Ms Emma Herd (CEO Investor Group on Climate Change)
  • Mr Dermot O'Gorman (CEO World Wildlife Fund –Australia)
  • Professor Will Steffen (Emeritus Professor at the Australian National University (ANU), Senior Fellow at the Stockholm Resilience Centre, Sweden)
  • Ms Angharad Wyne-Jones (Head of Participation at Arts Centre Melbourne)

© 2018 Australian Academy of Science