Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Alumni Association in Australia (JSPSAAA)

The purpose of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Alumni Association in Australia (JSPSAAA) is to engage Australian scientists with past, current or possible future collaborative links with Japan to enhance the strong bilateral science and research relationship between the two countries. The JSPSAAA will:

  • maintain and expand the international network of JSPS Alumni Associations
  • promote awareness of the opportunities and benefits of scientific collaboration with Japan
  • promote Australia as a priority partner for Japan in scientific research and development
  • identify and address issues of common concern between the Japanese and Australian scientific communities
  • promote exchange of information between Australian scientists with links to Japan
  • provide guidance for prospective and new JSPS Fellows.

Executive Committee members (2016-2018)

A/Professor Graziella Caprarelli
University of South Australia
A/Professor Graeme Allinson
RMIT University
Dr Chunlu Liu
Deakin University
Dr Ruth Eriksen
University of Tasmania
A/Professor Shokoofeh Shamsi
Charles Sturt University (NSW/ACT)
Dr Patricia Vickers-Rich
Monash University (VIC/TAS)
Professor Peter Koopman FAA
University of Queensland (QLD/NT)
Dr Mandy Walker

*ordinary members of the Executive Committee also act as regional representatives. Regions are as indicated.

Related Articles

Membership types and how to join

There are two categories of membership:

Regular membership is available to all Australian citizens who are or were recipients of JSPS Fellowships or other grants supported by the JSPS (for example, STA).

Honorary membership may be granted to persons who have made significant contributions to Australia’s academic collaboration with Japan and JSPS activities in the AUSTRALIA. Honorary members must be nominated by a member of the JSPSAAA and approved by the Executive Committee.

If you are eligible and would like to join the JSPSAAA, please click here.

© 2018 Australian Academy of Science