The Australian Academy of Science is a Fellowship of the nation’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for outstanding research that has pushed back the frontiers of knowledge. Fellows are eminent by reason of their attainments in natural science. Twenty Fellows are elected to the Academy each year by their peers, and occasionally Special Fellows (for conspicuous service to science) and Corresponding Members (international Fellows) are also elected. The Academy elects a President every four years, with 17 past presidents since its founding President in 1954, Sir Mark Oliphant AC KBE FAA FRS FTSE.


View the current Fellows of the Academy, Corresponding Members, featured Fellows, and memoirs celebrating the lives and achievements of deceased Fellows.


Election to the Fellowship of the Academy is a lengthy and rigorous process designed to ensure that the elections are thorough and fair.

Diversity and inclusion in the Fellowship

Females currently comprise 15% of living Fellows. Find out what the Academy is doing to address gender imbalance in the Fellowship.

© 2019 Australian Academy of Science