Future Earth Australia urges collaboration to address sustainability issues

November 22, 2017

The urban built environment, the marine environment and energy transformation are key areas where Australian researchers and industry partners could collaborate more effectively to address issues of sustainability, according to Future Earth Australia.

“Future Earth Australia has a crucial role to play in the generation of enduring solutions to address the most urgent sustainability challenges facing humanity,” said Australian Academy of Science President, Professor Andrew Holmes.

“The challenges are complex but communities across the globe, including in Australia and our region, are capable of connected research approaches that find and deliver solutions.”

Hosted by the Australian Academy of Science, Future Earth Australia is a partnership of Australia’s learned academies, Australian universities, research institutes, industry and government agencies focused on advancing sustainability. 

Professor Ian Chubb, former Australian Chief Scientist and current Chair of Future Earth Australia’s Advisory Council, said Australia can be an important element in global research initiatives aimed at ensuring the future of our planet.

“Australia needs to become a part of the international innovation community and it needs to mobilise its comparative advantages in research towards addressing the Sustainable Development Goals,” Professor Chubb said.

Dr Imran Ahmad, Director of Future Earth Australia, said integrated catchment management is a good example where Australian research institutions have come together to provide effective natural resource management solutions customised to local needs.

“Elsewhere however, integrated and collaborative approaches are less prominent. Nationally and internationally, connecting for sustainability still has some way to go, which is where Future Earth Australia comes in,” Dr Ahmad said.

[This news item was updated 28 June 2018. Contact Future Earth Australia if you would like more information about the program.]

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science