The Moran Award for History of Science Research

The call for applications are currently open

Closing date

June 01 2020 - 9:00 AM


This award is aimed at postgraduate students and other researchers with expertise in the history of Australian science. Its purpose is to support access to archives that record the history of science in Australia, especially by younger researchers, and it can be used towards travel and accommodation costs.

A total of $5,000 (GST exclusive) is available each year. This will generally be awarded to one person, but may be split between candidates at the selection committee’s discretion.


Applications are to be completed through an online form found here.

Applications must include the following:

  • Brief CV including qualifications, summary of professional/research experience and publications/presentations. A full publications list is not required. Maximum of three pages using size 12 font.
  • A brief outline of the proposed project and the archives to be consulted
  • Please include an itemised budget with brief justification for each item. File must be a maximum of 1A4 page of size 12 font. Up to $A5,000 is available to cover travel and living expenses. Daily allowance rates followed for this scheme are listed in table 2 of the Tax Offices Tax determination TD 2014/19 webpage. They can also be found through contacting the awards team at
  • two referee reports

Applications are assessed  by a committee of scientists with diverse expertise based on the assessed competitiveness of the proposal. The Academy is not able to enter into discussion or correspondence regarding the reasons why an application is successful or not. 

The Australian Academy of Science encourages applications from female candidates and from candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

Applicants can only receive funding from the same research or travelling research award once in a three calendar year period.

Applicants may apply for more than one award but can only receive one Academy travelling or research award per calendar year.

Past awardees

  • 2020—Dr Ruth Morgan
  • 2019—Ms Lisa Hunt
  • 2018—Dr Linden Ashcroft and Ms Kelly McKinley
  • 2017—Mr Daniel May
  • 2016—Dr Francesco Gerali
  • 2015—Dr Andrea Candela
  • 2014—Dr Danielle Clode and Ms Deirdre Slattery
  • 2011—Dr Lachlan Clohesy and Ms Ailie Smith
  • 2009—Dr Jodi Frawley
  • 2008—Ms Kate Rogers
  • 2006—Associate Professor Kevin Downard and Dr Fredericka van der Lubbe
  • 2005—Ms Bernadette Hince
  • 2004—Ms Bernadette Hince

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science