User login

Lindau Nobel laureates meeting

64th Meeting of Nobel Laureates in Lindau

More details are available from:

Australia, via the Academy, has been invited to host the International Day at the 64th Lindau Nobel Laureates Meetings on 30 June 2014. The International Day offers an exceptional educational, research and science diplomacy opportunity for Australia to display its achievements on the world stage. The disciplines of physiology and medicine will be represented at the 2014 Lindau meeting.

The inspiring Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, held annually in Germany since 1951, introduce Nobel Prize winners in chemistry, physiology, medicine and physics to younger generations of scientists. From 2004 the Academy has supported an annual delegation of young Australian researchers, accompanied by a member of the Academy's Council. Since 2013, the Science and Industry Endowment Fund (SIEF) has provided SIEF-AAS Fellowships for up to 10 Australian-based early career scientists in specialist discipline years, and up to 15 in multidisciplinary years.

The International Day will begin with a scientific breakfast aimed at stimulating discussion and setting the tone for the day’s events. During the breakfast, Academy President Professor Suzanne Cory will chair a panel discussion on the topic ‘Women in science’.

The evening program includes a scientific lecture given by a leading Australian researcher, cultural entertainment and Australian food and wine. Approximately 850 guests, including Nobel Laureates, early career researchers, members of the Lindau Council and members of the world’s media, will attend.

As the 2014 International Day host, Australia will send a delegation of 15 outstanding young Australian scientists to Lindau, supported by the SIEF-AAS Fellowships or by their university. Congratulations to:

  • Michael Bergin, The University of Queensland (SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Nady Braidy, UNSW Australia(SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Melissa Cantley, The University of Adelaide (supported by the University of Adelaide/Go8)
  • Ross Hamilton, CSIRO (SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Rae-Anne Hardie, Garvan Institute of Medical Research (SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Sarah Lockie, Monash University (SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Yi Lu, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute (SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Maria Markoulli, UNSW Australia (supported by UNSW Australia/Go8)
  • Hannah Moore, The University of Western Australia (SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Kate Murphy, The University of Melbourne (supported by the University of Melbourne/Go8)
  • Rebecca Segrave, Monash University (supported by Monash University/Go8)
  • Kirsty Short, The University of Queensland (SIEF-AAS Fellow)
  • Angela Spence, The University of Western Australia (supported by the University of Western Australia/Go8)
  • Sonia Troeira Henriques, The University of Queensland (supported by the University of Queensland/Go8)
  • Catriona Wimberley, ANSTO (SIEF-AAS Fellow)

These young researchers will join other distinguished Australians, including Australian Nobel Laureates Professor Brian Schmidt AC FRS FAA, Professor Elizabeth Blackburn AC FRS FAA, Professor Barry Marshall AC FRS FAA and Professor Peter Doherty AC FRS FAA to form the official Australian delegation to Lindau. The delegation will be led by Professor Suzanne Cory AC PresAA FRS and Professor Jerry Adams FAA FRS.

The Academy is grateful for the funding and advice it has received from the International Day sponsors: the Australian Government Department of Industry and Department of Education, the Group of Eight, Austrade, CSIRO, the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), the Defence Science and Technology Oganisation (DSTO) and the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).