Top young physicists to attend Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

March 01, 2019
Hareem Khan—one of the ten young Australian physicists attending the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting.

Ten of Australia’s top young physicists, seven of them women, have earned the opportunity to attend a highly prestigious annual gathering of Nobel Laureates and emerging scientists from around the world.

The 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Germany will see a record 42 Nobel Prize winners—including Academy Fellow Professor Brian Schmidt—joining the young scientists at the event.

The Australian PhD candidates and postdoctoral researchers attending are:

  • Dr Katie Sizeland—Postdoctoral Fellow, ANSTO, who is investigating the nanostructure and mechanical properties of collagen
  • Fiona Panther—PhD Candidate, Australian National University, who is researching antimatter in the Milky Way
  • Eliezer Estrecho—PhD Candidate, ARC Centre of Excellence in Future Low-Energy Electronics Technologies, who studies exciton-polariton Bose-Einstein condensates
  • Dr Matthew Reeves—Postdoctoral Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence in Future Low-Energy Electronics Technologies, who is investigating superfluid turbulence and vortex dynamics
  • Dr Nora Tischler—Postdoctoral Fellow, Griffith University, who works in quantum optics and nanophotonics
  • Melanie Hampel—PhD Candidate, Monash University, who  works in nuclear astrophysics
  • Dr Sarah Walden—Postdoctoral Fellow, Queensland University of Technology, who studies nonlinear optics and material interactions
  • Hareem Khan—PhD Candidate, RMIT, who works in electrical and electronics engineering of 2D materials
  • Claire Edmunds—PhD Candidate, University of Sydney, who is researching quantum computing and information
  • Samuel Hinton—PhD Candidate, University of Queensland, who is researching dark matter by studying supernovae.

These researchers were nominated by the Academy and selected by the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings. They will receive a grant to enable their attendance at the event, that runs from 30 June to 5 July 2019, through the generous support of the Science and Industry Endowment Fund (SIEF). 

The group will also take part in the SIEF Research Innovation Tour in Germany, led by renowned Australian scientist and Academy Fellow, Professor Chennupati Jagadish. The tour will showcase some of Germany’s finest research and development, while also providing opportunities to share the research done by the young scientists and encourage scientific collaboration between the two countries.

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science