Eureka moment for two Academy Fellows

September 12, 2022
Australian Museum Eureka Prizes trophy. Image: Daniel O'Doherty for the Australian Museum.

Two Academy Fellows, Professor Veena Sahajwalla and Professor David Lindenmayer, are among Australia’s top scientists and science teams recognised at the prestigious 2022 Eureka Prizes at the Australian Museum.

Closing the loop on waste


An internationally recognised materials scientist, engineer and innovator, Professor Sahajwalla is renowned for pioneering high temperature transformation of waste in the production of a new generation of ‘green materials’.

Her work aims to shift Australia’s mindset to see unwanted products and materials not as waste, but as a valuable resource, reusing and recycling them into new products and creating a ‘circular economy’.

She received the Celestino Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science.

Real-time biodiversity


One of Australia’s leading ecologists, Professor Lindenmayer has long been known for his original and ambitious approaches to large ecological questions.

His work with Sustainable Farms, which monitored how biodiversity responds to management changes on farms over several decades, has allowed farmers to make informed management decisions – including using BirdCast, a digital tool that helps predict which birds may live in woodlands under different scenarios.

Sustainable Farms received the NSW Environment and Heritage Eureka Prize for Applied Environmental Research.

About the prizes

The Eureka Prizes celebrate outstanding achievements in Australian Science, honouring excellence across the areas of research and innovation, leadership, science engagement and school science.

Two other Academy Fellows were also shortlisted for Eureka Prizes in 2022:

See the full list of 2022 Eureka Prize winners, and the Academy Fellows recognised in 2020 and 2021.

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science