Academy Fellows get their Eureka moment

November 26, 2020
Professor Ben Eggleton FAA FTSE (left) and Professor Dacheng Tao FAA.

Two Academy Fellows, Professor Ben Eggleton and Professor Dacheng Tao, have each won a 2020 Australian Museum Eureka Prize.

Professor Tao won the Eureka Prize for Excellence in Data Science. His work on deep learning, which imitates the brain's ability to process data and make decisions, has enabled the design of algorithms for object detection and image enchancement.

Professor Eggleton and his team of Dr Eric Mägi, Dr Moritz Merklein, Dr Alvaro Casas Bedoya, Dr Yang Liu and Associate Professor Stephen Madden won the Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia. A microchip produced by the team, which uses the interactions between light and sound, can improve microwave signal processing in performance, efficiency and cost.

Four Fellows were also Eureka Prizes finalists:

  • Professor Geordie Williamson, a world-leading mathematician in geometric representation theory, was a finalist for the CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science
  • Professor Michelle Coote, regarded as a pioneer in computational chemistry for modelling radical polymerisation processes, was a finalist along with her team for the UNSW Eureka Prize for Scientific Research
  • Professor Chris Dickman is internationally recognised for his contributions to our understanding of terrestrial vertebrates. His Cat Ecology, Impact and Management team was a finalist for the Eureka Prize for Applied Environmental Research
  • Professor Robert Parton, known for his pioneering work on the plasma membrane organisation of mammalian cells, was a finalist along with the BioNanoVR team for the ANSTO Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology.

Watch the 2020 Eureka Prizes award ceremony

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science