Enduring gifts

Professor David Craig AO FAA FRS: the gift of education

Simon Crean, Minister for Science and Technology (left), meeting with Academy President David Craig (centre) and Executive Secretary Peter Vallee (right) in 1990 to discuss possible federal government support for the Australian Foundation for Science

In 1990, the Academy launched the Australian Foundation for Science to bring additional resources to promoting science and technology in Australia and to increase the contribution of science to the nation’s welfare. The foundation allowed individuals and organisations to actively contribute to this goal and gain recognition for their public spirit. 

In the same year, Professor David Craig became President of the Academy. Professor Craig well understood the challenges facing Australian science, such as ensuring quality school science education and improving public understanding of science.

Today we face many of the same issues. The Foundation for Science has now become the Australian Futures Science Fund and, with the enduring dedication of Fellows, the Academy continues to face those challenges head on.

Through a generous bequest to the Academy in October 2015, Professor Craig’s legacy will be extended and will play a pivotal role in the future of science education. In accordance with his wishes, the Academy’s primary school education program, Primary Connections, will apply Professor Craig’s bequest to developing new primary school teaching aids in the area of chemistry. 

Professor Jan Anderson FAA FRS: a gift to underpin the Academy’s mission

Professor Jan Anderson

Professor Jan Mary Anderson became a Fellow of the Academy in 1987. It was the beginning of her deep connection with the Academy’s work. Professor Anderson was a frequent attendee at Academy events, often bringing friends and colleagues. She had a keen and enduring interest in the Academy’s public presence, and its work in education and policy.

Professor Anderson’s generous bequest will help underpin the mission of the Academy, supporting its core work.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science