Philanthropic giving

Since its creation by Royal Charter in 1954, gifts and legacies from Fellows and friends have helped the Australian Academy of Science to maintain a degree of financial independence.

Many of our core activities such as scientific meetings, advice to support policy development, publications, education, public awareness and outreach, international activities, awards and fellowships would not be possible without your support.

Support given through general donations is directly responsible for strengthening the Academy’s achievements. Each time you make a gift through our annual tax or special appeals, you help to make the Academy a vital, viable and visible presence in our region.

Donate now

About our donors

Shine On—Donor newsletter, December 2016

Shine On—Donor newsletter, May 2016

Shine On—Donor newsletter, December 2015

Donor stories

Donor Honour Roll

We are deeply grateful to the following individuals and organisations for their extraordinary generosity. Our Academy Pillars have, over time, contributed an outstanding level of support to the Australian Academy of Science.

Academy Pillars

Donations of or valued at $500,000 +

In perpetuity

  • Sir Jack Ellerton Becker FAA
  • Estate of Thomas Lewis Davies
  • Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts
  • FJ Fenner AC CMG MBE FAA FRS and Mrs Bobbie Fenner
  • Dr Margaret Middleton
  • The Royal Society (UK)—Theo Murphy (Australia) Fund
  • Estate of Ian Gordon Ross AO FAA
  • Estate of Miss JG Russell
  • Professor John Shine AO FAA
  • Telstra

The Australian Academy of Science acknowledges the support of donors who gave generously over the past 12 months. Their support plays a critical role in helping the Academy achieve its mission.

Presidents’ Circle

Donations of or valued at $100,000 – $499,999

  • Dr Maxwell Day AO FAA
  • The University of Melbourne
  • Telstra Corporation

Science Circle

Donations of or valued at $20,000 – $99,999

  • Professor Jan Anderson FAA FRS
  • Professor Paul Korner AO FAA
  • Dr Margaret R Middleton
  • Professor David Solomon AC FAA FRS FTSE

Academy Supporters

Members of all other donor groups receive acknowledgement in the Academy's annual report and acknowledgement on the website, and receive regular donor updates and quarterly newsletters. The Academy is pleased to welcome donors into our giving programs, enabling us to thank and recognise them for their commitment in their giving.

Donations of or valued at $10,000 – $19,999

  • Dr Jennifer Gordon
  • Dr TJ Higgins FAA FTSE and Dr Peggy Horn
  • Dr Anna Rickards
  • Selby Scientific Foundation
  • Anonymous 1

Friends of the Academy

Donations of or valued at $5,000 – $9,999

  • Dr Eldon Ball
  • Professor Marilyn Ball FAA
  • Professor Sir Gustav Nossal AC CBE FAA FRS FTSE and Lady Lyn Nossal

Academy Associates

Donations of or valued at $1,000 – $4,999

  • Professor Brian Anderson AC FAA FRS
  • Professor Michael Barber FAA FTSE
  • Professor Suzanne Cory AC FAA FRS
  • Dr Rana Munns FAA
  • Dr John Church FAA FTSE
  • Professor Brian Kay AM FAA
  • Professor Fred Mendelsohn AO FAA
  • Professor Nicos A Nicola FAA
  • Dr Ezio Rizzardo FAA FRS FTSE

Donors $500 – $999

  • Professor Martin A Bennett FAA FRS
  • Professor David Green AM FAA FRS
  • Emeritus Professor Bruce Holloway AO FAA FTSE
  • Professor Andrew Holmes AM PresAA FRS FTSE
  • Professor David Letham FAA
  • Professor John Oswald Newton FAA
  • Mrs Cheryl Sutherland
  • Professor Ole Warnaar FAA

Donors up to $499

  • Mr Jamie Alonso
  • Professor Michael Alpers AO FAA
  • Dr Cyril Appleby FAA
  • Desi Ariwinanti
  • Mrs Kaye Beckwith
  • Dr Keith Boardman AO FAA FRS FTSE
  • Ms Susannah Bourke
  • Professor Henry Burger AO FAA FRACP
  • Professor Choo FAA
  • Professor Andrew Regina Cole FAA
  • Ms Penny Collings
  • Mr Anton Cook
  • Professor David Doddrell AM FAA
  • Ms Tracy Emm
  • Professor Matthew Colless FAA
  • Ms Karen Gair
  • Mr David Glagovs
  • Ms Chantel Grellman
  • Ms Isobel Griffin
  • Ms Dianne Hodge
  • Mrs Janice Johnson
  • Professor Allen Kerr AO FAA FRS
  • Emeritus Professor Jim Lance AO CBE FAA
  • Adina Leu
  • Dr Alexander McClintock
  • Professor Ian McDougall FAA
  • Professor Bruce McKellar FAA
  • Dr Sue Meek AO FTSE
  • Sir Rupert Myers KBE AO FAA FTSE
  • Ms Elle Nish
  • Ms Kathy O’Neil
  • Richard Parker
  • Professor Mervyn Paterson FAA
  • Mr Ben Patterson
  • Professor David Pegg FAA
  • Professor Harry Poulos AM FAA FTSE
  • Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA
  • Dr Richard Richards FAA
  • Ms Margaret Robinson
  • Mrs K M Rodda
  • Yunru Sung
  • Ms Helen Swift
  • Professor Gerry Wake FAA
  • Professor Robin Warren AC FAA Nobel Laureate
  • Dr Guy White AM FAA
  • Professor John White AO CMG FAA FRS
  • Mrs D Alleyne Womersley
  • Dr John Zillman AO FAA FTSE
  • Anonymous 1

NOTE: Every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of this report. We sincerely apologise if any error or omission has occurred. If you notice an error or omission please notify Academy of Science on 02 6201 9400.

All donations will be acknowledged for a period of twelve months. This list will be updated quarterly. Last updated 30 September 2016.

© 2017 Australian Academy of Science