Fellows update—August 2018

August 27, 2018

Honours and awards to Fellows

Professor Nalini Joshi AO FAA—elected Vice-President of the International Mathematical Union

Professor Kliti Grice FAA—recipient of the 2018 Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science (ANZAAS) Medal for extraordinary contribution to science

Emeritus Professor David Blair FAA—inducted into the WA Science Hall of Fame in recognition of his extensive achievements in experimental physics, focusing on the direct detection of gravitational waves

Professor C. Jagadish AC FAA FTSE—2018 Recognition Award from the Nanometer Science and Technology Division (NSTD) of the American Vacuum Society, for his contributions to semiconductor nano-optoelectronics and nano-photonics

National Health and Medical Research Council

Professor Melissa Little FAA—NHMRC Elizabeth Blackburn Fellowship Award (Biomedical)

Professor Melissa Little FAA—NHMRC Research Fellowship Award

Professor Stephen Nutt FAA—NHMRC Project Grant Award

ARC Laureate Fellowships

Professor Christine Beveridge FAA, University of Queensland—awarded $2.9 million to investigate the genetic mechanisms of shoot branching in agricultural and horticultural plants

Professor Julian Gale FAA, Curtin University—awarded $2.5 million to develop new predictive methodologies for crystallisation processes that underpin food and minerals processing, and pharmaceutical development

Professor Karl Glazebrook FAA, Swinburne University of Technology—awarded $2.8 million to develop deep learning techniques for use by the James Webb Space Telescope (launching in 2020 as successor to Hubble) in mapping and understanding the universe during its first billion years

Professor Bostjan Kobe FAA, University of Queensland—awarded $2.8 million to investigate mechanisms of innate immunity in plants and animals

Professor Peter Visscher FAA FRS, University of Queensland—awarded $3.5 million to use big data and genomic technologies to understand the causes and consequences of human trait variation


Professor Alex Moodie FAA

Professor Alex Moodie

Professor Alex Moodie was a pioneer of electron diffraction and was elected to the Academy in 1973. He played an essential part in the theoretical and experimental developments that revolutionised the fields of electron diffraction and microscopy of crystals. His theoretical work included important contributions to the initial formulation of a complete n-beam theory of electron diffraction, the formal quantum mechanical basis for this, and the computing methods permitting its application to practical problems in solid-state physics and chemistry.

Professor Moodie was a member of the Academy’s National Committee for Crystallography from 1970 to 1979 and served as Chair from 1979 to 1983. He received the Ewald Medal from the International Union of Crystallography in 1988 in recognition of his contributions to his field.

Professor John Veevers FAA

Professor John Veevers

Professor John Veevers was elected to the Academy in 1995 for his outstanding contributions to the understanding and mapping of the sedimentary basins of Australia (both on and offshore) and for his work on the tectonic-climatic global supercyles that define major phases in the development of the Earth during the last 1,000 million years.

While at the University of Sydney, Professor Veevers commenced as a Cadet Geologist at the Bureau of Mineral Resources and during the Summer of 1948–49 he assisted in making a reconnaissance map of the forthcoming Snowy Mountains Hydro Scheme. He worked at the bureau until 1968 when he joined the newly formed Macquarie University, where he was appointed Emeritus Professor in 1998.

Professor Veevers was actively involved in the Academy, serving on the National Committee for Solid-Earth Sciences from 1981 to 1983 as well as several Academy committees following his election. John was an Honorary Fellow of the Geological Society of London and of the Geological Society of America. He received the Stillwell Award in 1968 and the Carey Medal for Tectonics in 1992 from the Geological Society of Australia. ‘Veevers Crater’ was named in recognition of John’s extensive work in Western Australia.

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science