Fellows update—August 2020

August 31, 2020

Awards to Fellows

Professor Terence Tao FAA FRS—together with Yves Meyer, Ingrid Daubechies and Emmanuel Candès, received the Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research 2020 for making immeasurable, ground-breaking contributions to modern theories and techniques of mathematical data and signal processing.


Emeritus Professor Richard Limon Stanton AO FAA DistFRSN

16 February 1926 to 25 August 2020

Emeritus Professor Richard Stanton AO FAA DistFRSN

Professor Richard Stanton was an eminent economic geologist, elected to the Academy in 1975 for his original contributions to the genesis of ore deposits. He recognised the role of volcanism and sedimentation in the formation of new ore deposits, and the physics and chemistry involved in the concentration of copper, zinc and lead in volcanic lavas.

After completing his BSc at New England University College, University of Sydney (later University of New England), Professor Stanton worked in mineral exploration in mines at Broken Hill, far north Queensland and Burraga. He then took up a teaching fellowship at the University of Sydney where he completed his PhD on regional patterns of mineralisation and was involved in the first systematic geological mapping of the Solomon Islands. In 1975, following a post-doctorate Fellowship at Queen's University, Ontario, he was appointed Professor of Geology at the University of New England and then Emeritus Professor in 1986. During his time at UNE he took sabbaticals to Harvard on a Fulbright Award and Oxford.

Professor Stanton received many prizes and awards including the President’s Award of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, the Goldfields Gold Medal of the Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (London), the William Smith Medal of the Geological Society (London), the W R Browne Medal of the Geological Society of Australia, the Penrose Medal of the Society of Economic Geologists (USA) and the Academy’s Haddon Forrester King Medal in 1998. He was an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Mining and Metallurgy and a Distinguished Fellow of the Royal Society of New South Wales in 2009. He was awarded the RSNSW Archibald Ollé Prize, the Society’s Medal and the Clarke Medal. Professor Stanton was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1996.

Professor Stanton generously gave his time to the Academy over five decades. He served on numerous committees including National Committees and served on Council and as Vice-President.

Read the transcript of a 2008 interview with Professor Stanton.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science