Honours and awards to Fellows

Left to right: Marelyn Wintour-Coghlan, Geoff McFadden, Scott Sloan, Michael Goddard and Roger Powell.

Queens Birthday Honours

Professor Stephen Simpson AC FAA FRS—for eminent service to biological and biomedical science as an educator, researcher and author, particularly in the areas of human nutrition, obesity and metabolic disease, to higher education, and through roles with a range of professional scientific organisations.

Dr Marelyn Wintour-Coghlan AO FAA—for distinguished service to medical science in the field of physiology, particularly in the area of maternal and child health, to education as an academic, mentor and researcher, and to professional organisations.

American Academy of Microbiology New Fellows

Professor Geoff McFadden FAA AAM—elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology for the field of microbiology.

The Royal Society New Fellows

Professor Scott Sloan FAA FRS FTSE—elected to Fellowship of the Royal Society of London

Professor Michael Goddard FAA FRS—elected to Fellowship of the Royal Society of London

Professor Roger Powell FAA FRS—elected to Fellowship of the Royal Society of London

European Inventor Award

Professor Ian Frazer AC FAA FRS and his late colleague, Dr Jian Zhou—for their invention of a vaccine against human papillomavirus (HPV).

Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology

Professor Jagadish FAA FTSE—for initiating new areas of research, development or engineering that have had a significant impact on the field of nanotechnology; to be awarded by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) at the 15th International Conference on Nanotechnology in July 2015.

Academy Newsletter Issue 100

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science