Honours and awards to Fellows

Royal Society Royal Medal

Professor Elizabeth Blackburn AC FAA FRS—for her work on the prediction and discovery of telomerase and the role of telomeres in protecting and maintaining the genome.

2015 Carl G Hartman Award

photo of Professor Short receiving a framed award
Professor Short (centre) receiving the Carl G. Hartman Award at the annual meeting of the Society for the Study of Reproduction held in Puerto Rico in June

Professor Roger Short AM FAA FRS—for a career in research and scholarly activities in the reproductive biology field; awarded by the Society for the Study of Reproduction.

This is the society’s highest award. Of the 47 previous recipients, Professor Short is the only Australian to have received this award. This award is supported by a grant from Cook Medical.

2015 Engineering Achievement Award

Professor C. Jagadish FAA FTSE—for pioneering and sustained contributions to compound semiconductor quantum well, quantum dot and nanowire optoelectronic devices and their integration; to be awarded by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Photonics Society (IPS) at the 2015 IEEE Photonics Conference (IPC) in October 2015.

2015 Eureka Prizes

Professor Tanya Monro FAA FTSE—University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research.

Professor Michelle Simmons FAA—CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science.

Professor Marilyn Renfree AO FAA—University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers.

2015 Hardy Fellowship

Professor Nalini Joshi FAA—awarded the Special LMS Hardy Fellow for 2015; undertook a lecture tour of the UK in June and July, ending with the Hardy Lecture at the Society Meeting on 3 July in London, UK.

2015 Helmholtz International Fellow Award

Professor Yuri Estrin FAA—elected as a Fellow in the field of engineering.

2015 Mehdi Behzad Prize

Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA—received the Mehdi Behzad Prize from the Iranian Mathematical Society at an awards ceremony in Iran in August 2015.

2015 NSW Premier’s Awards General History Prize

Ian Mackay FAA and Warwick Anderson—for the book ‘Intolerant Bodies: A Short History of Autoimmunity’.

2015 Norman Borlaug Award

Professor Michael McLaughlin FAA—for significant advances in crop nutrition, from the International Fertilizer Industry Association.

2015 Thomson Reuters Citation Award

Professor Suzanne O’Reilly FAA—for Earth sciences in the area of tectonic setting in the North and South China Cratons.

Professor Yuri Estrin FAA—for engineering in the area of severe plastic deformation of materials.

Professor Hugh Possingham FAA—for effects of climate change on habit loss and conservation decisions.

Professor Bryan Gaensler FAA—for the Murchison Widefield Array (MWA).

Professor Peter Colman FAA FRS FTSE, Dr Andreas Strasser FAA and Professor David Vaux FAA—for the molecular triggers of cell necrosis and applications for cancer treatment.

Newsletter number 101 September 2015

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science