Dr Leo Michael Clarebrough OAM FAA

14 June 1924 – 4 December 2015

Leo Clarebrough

Dr Leo Clarebrough was elected to the Academy in 1978 for his distinguished contributions to physical metallurgy and metal physics, including his work developing high-precision differential calorimetry for metal defects using electron microscopy.

Clarebrough was a Research Scientist at the CSIRO Division of Tribophysics from 1947 to 1978. He was appointed Chief Research Scientist in the Division of Chemical Physics from 1978 to 1988 and an Honorary Research Fellow in the Division of Materials Science and Technology from 1988. His research included work on the plastic properties of metals, energy stored in deformed metals, and electrical resistivity and volume changes due to deformation.

Clarebrough served as a member of the Academy’s Council from 1985 to 1987. He was Vice-President in 1987 and served as Secretary Physical Sciences from 1988 to 1992. He was also a member of several Academy standing committees and consultative committees.

In recognition of his service to science in the area of metal physics, and to the community through activities supporting youth welfare, aged care, social justice and ecumenical dialogue, Clarebrough received the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2008.

Professor Peter Gavin Hall AO FAA FRS

20 November 1951 – 9 January 2016

Peter Hall

Professor Peter Hall was Professor of Statistics and Australian Laureate Fellow in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Melbourne. He made significant contributions to the field of statistics through his work on probability theory, theory of statistics and consumer statistics.

Awarded his DPhil from the University of Oxford, Hall was elected to the Academy in 1987, becoming an active and committed member of the Fellowship. He served as a Council member from 2003 to 2006 and again from 2008 to 2012, during which time he also served as Secretary Physical Sciences and Vice-President. Hall was also a member and Chair of Sectional Committee 1: Mathematical Sciences from 1999 to 2004 and chaired Discipline Nominating Group 1: Mathematical Sciences from 2014 to 2015. He was a Fellow of the Royal Society and a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Science.

Widely published and cited, Hall received many awards including, most recently, the prestigious Samuel S Wilks Memorial Award, the Guy Medal and the George Szekeres Medal. He was one of only two researchers based outside of North America to win the COPSS Presidents’ Award, arguably the world’s most prestigious award for research statisticians.

Hall’s accomplishments were further recognised in 2013 when he was made an officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to mathematical science in the field of statistics through international contributions to research, as an academic and mentor, and through leadership of advisory and professional organisations.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science