World leader in chemistry admitted as Corresponding Member

Professor CNR Rao FRS has been formally admitted as a Corresponding Member of the Academy, signing the Academy’s Charter Book at a ceremony in December.

Professor Rao is one of the foremost world leaders in the area of solid state and materials chemistry. He played a leading role in establishing the Australia–India Strategic Research Fund, fostering a long-term scientific and technological partnership between the two countries. The fund is Australia’s single largest bilateral science and research fund.

Professor Rao joins the Academy’s 27 other Corresponding Members, comprising leading international researchers and science advocates with strong links to Australia.  

At CNR Rao’s formal admittance as Corresponding Member were (from left): C Jagadish, Graeme Farquhar, Mani Suri, His Excellency Mr Navdeep Suri, CNR Rao, Tim Senden, Erich Weigold, Indumati Rao, Vidya Jagadish, John White, Sue Meek, TJ Higgins, Nanda Dasgupta, Karen Holt, Jim Williams, Kumar Kalra and Kurt Lambeck.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science