Call for 2015 award nominations

The Academy has opened the call for nominations for next year’s prestigious honorific awards for career, early-and mid-career researchers. The closing date for nominations is 17 April 2014.

Career awards

  • David Craig Medal (chemistry)
  • Hannan Medal (pure mathematics)
  • Jaeger Medal (Australian Earth sciences)
  • Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal (mathematics or physics)

Early- and Mid-Career awards for researchers up to 15 years post-PhD

  • John Booker Medal (engineering science)
  • Ruth Stephens Gani Medal (human genetics including  clinical, molecular, population  and epidemiological genetics and cytogenetics)
  • Anton Hales Medal (Earth sciences)
  • Christopher Heyde Medal (pure mathematics)
  • Dorothy Hill Award (Earth sciences, reef sciences, marine geology and taxonomy)
  • Fenner Medal (biology - excluding biomedical sciences)
  • Gottschalk Medal (biomedical sciences)
  • Le Fèvre Memorial Prize (chemistry)
  • Nancy Millis Medal for Women in Science (any branch of the natural sciences)
  • Moran Medal (statistical science)
  • Pawsey Medal (physics)

Academy launches two new awards

This year the Academy is launching the inaugural John Booker Medal in Engineering Science, and establishing the Thomas Davies Research Grants for marine, soil and plant biology.

Thanks to the Australian Deans of Engineering, we are pleased to honour the work of the late Professor John Robert Booker AO FAA. Professor Booker was recognised and respected for advocating for early-career researchers. He worked in the area of analytical geomechanics and was a Professor in the Department of Civil and Mining Engineering at The University of Sydney from 1970 to 1998.

The Thomas Davies Research Grants for marine, soil and plant biology were made possible through a generous philanthropic bequest from the estate of the late Thomas Lewis Davies.

The fund is offering up to three grants of up to $10 000 each to early- and mid-career researchers for research in the fields of marine, soil and plant biology.

Nominations are also invited for the 2016 Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture in the biological sciences. Only Fellows may nominate candidates for this award, but candidates do not need to be Fellows.

The Academy is also opening applications for research grants, travelling fellowships and conference and research support for 2015–16. The closing date is 30 July 2014

The Academy is expecting to allocate close to $112 000 in 2015 for the Douglas and Lola Douglas Scholarship in medical science, the Margaret Middleton Fund for endangered Australian native vertebrate animals research awards, the Moran Award for history of science research, the Thomas Davies Research Fund for marine, soil and plant biology research and from the WH Gladstone Population and Environment Fund.

Travelling fellowships totalling close to $33 000 are expected to be administered by the Academy for the AK Head Travelling Scholarship for Mathematical Scientists and the Selby Travelling Fellowship for overseas scientists to visit Australian scientific centres. 

Applications are also invited for 2015 and 2016 research conference support including the Boden Research Conference in the Biological Sciences, the Elizabeth and Frederick White Research Conference in the physical sciences and the Fenner Conference on the Environment. The funding available for these three conferences is up to $30 000 in total.

Further information is available in the Awards section.

See full Newsletter

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science