Honours and awards to Fellows

Ruth Hall, Graham Farquhar, Richard Richards

2014 Australia Day Honours

Companion of the Order in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AC)

Professor Sam Berkovic AC FAA FRS for eminent service to biomedical research in the field of epilepsy genetics as a leading academic and clinician, to the study of neurology on a national and international level, and as an ambassador for Australian medical science education

Professor Bruce McKellar AC FAA for eminent service to science, particularly the study of theoretical physics, as an academic, educator and researcher, through seminal contributions to scientific development organisations, and as an author and mentor

Officer of the Order in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO)

Professor David Celermajer AO FAA for distinguished service to medicine in the field of cardiology, as a clinician and researcher, to improved medical diagnostic methods, and to the promotion of heart health, particularly in children and young adults

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Professor Ruth Hall OAM FAA for service to science in the field of microbiology

2014 Grote Reber Gold Medal

Professor Ron Ekers FAA FRS for innovative and significant contributions to radio astronomy

2014 Rank Prize in Human and Animal Nutrition and Crop Husbandry

Professor Graham Farquhar AO FAA FRS and Dr Richard Richards FAA FTSE for research into more water efficient wheat and brings these significant Australian scientific findings to world attention

2013 Ministerial Award for Cardiovascular Research Excellence

Professor Richard Harvey FAA presented by the NSW Cardiovascular Research Network (CVRN)

See full Newsletter

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science