History made as journal editors change

By John Passioura, Chair, HRAS Editorial Board

Thanks to Professors Rod Home and Libby Robin for the marvellous job they have done as editors, maintaining the journal at a very high standard.

The Academy’s journal, Historical Records of Australian Science, has appointed new editors. Professor Ian Rae is a long-standing member of the Editorial Board of HRAS, and Dr Sara Maroske is an experienced historian of science who has also had a long association with the journal. Together they bring to the journal a wide knowledge of potential authors and reviewers of papers as well as great editing expertise. The Editorial Board and the Academy’s Executive Committee are delighted to welcome them.

The Academy and the Board have offered wholehearted thanks to Professors Rod Home FAHA and Libby Robin for the marvellous job they have done as editors, maintaining the journal at a very high standard.

Professor Home has been associated with HRAS for a remarkable 35 years. He joined the editorial board in 1980, the year in which the journal changed its name from Records of the Australian Academy of Science to Historical Records of Australian Science.

Professor Home became editor in 1984 and has edited the journal since then. His editorial expertise has been extraordinary, especially for many of the authors of biographical memoirs who found themselves having to write in a style they were not used to. He was consistently able to guide authors, without ruffling feathers, to produce highly readable articles.

Five years ago, at Professor Home’s suggestion, Professor Robin was appointed co-editor to share the load with him. This she has done admirably, bringing to the role an enthusiasm and verve which is epitomised by her organising a special section in this month’s issue of HRAS comprising several papers by outstanding authors on arid-zone science.

We wish Professor Home an enjoyable retirement, and we welcome Professor Robin as a member of the Editorial Board of HRAS. She has kindly agreed to the appointment to help maintain continuity.

About the new editors

Professor Ian Rae is an Honorary Professorial Fellow in the School of Historical and Philosophical Studies at the University of Melbourne. He previously held appointments at Monash University and Victoria University of Technology, and was Technical Director of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

His training in organic chemistry and his experience in policy advice and development has led to his appointment to a range of state and federal advisory bodies, and to international organisations.

Ian has been responsible for a full range of undergraduate and post-graduate teaching in chemistry and environmental science, as well as substantial research activity within Australia and overseas. He is the author of more than 200 refereed publications and has published over 100 articles.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (FTSE) and a Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (FRACI). In 2003 he was awarded the Centenary of Federation Medal of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Dr Sara Maroske has broad research, writing and teaching experience in Australian history, environmental history and the history of science, and has been the book review editor of HRAS since 2010.

Sara has taught and worked on research projects at the University of Melbourne, LaTrobe University and the former Victoria College. She worked on The Correspondence of Ferdinand von Mueller Project and has lectured for many years at the University of Melbourne.

Sara has published around 40 refereed articles and book chapters, mainly about the history of Australian science. An essay from her thesis was jointly awarded the first National Museum of Australia Student Prize for the History of Australian Science and published in HRAS. She is also an active reviewer of books, contributor of papers to conferences, and referee for various journals. She is currently working on several projects including biographies for Mueller and Sophie Ducker.

In response to changes in publishing she also included in HRAS reviews of documentary films, exhibitions and digital books.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science