Honours and awards to Fellows

David Craik, winnner of the 2014 GSK Award for Research Excellence. Photo: Palin Communications

2014 Australian Museum Eureka Prize

Professor Terry Speed FAA FRS—received this year’s CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science.

2014 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

Nobel Laureate Professor Brian Schmidt AC FAA FRS, together with co-2011 Nobel Laureates in physics Professor Saul Perlmutter and Professor Adam Riess—in recognition of major insights into the deepest questions of the Universe.

2014 GSK Award for Research Excellence

Professor David Craik FAA—for his discovery of the largest known family of circular proteins, called cyclotides, which he is using to develop drug design approaches to treat pain and disease, and to develop insecticides to protect Australian crops.

2014 Prime Minister's Prize for Science

Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO FAA and Professor Sam Berkovic AC FAA FRS—for their ground-breaking work in epilepsy and its genetic links.

2014 Australian Mathematical Society's George Szekeres Medal

Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA—for making an outstanding contribution to the mathematical sciences in the 15 years prior to the year of the award.

2015 AONSA Prize

Professor John White CMG FAA FRS—awarded by the Asia–Oceania Neutron Scattering Association for contributions to the field of neutron scattering in the Asia–Oceania region.

2015 Hardy Fellowship

Professor Nalini Joshi FAA—awarded by the London Mathematical Society to a distinguished overseas mathematician, Nalini will deliver the Hardy Lecture at the Society’s annual meeting.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science