New Fundraising and Development Manager

Isobel Griffin
Fundraising and Development Manager Isobel Griffin

Isobel Griffin has replaced Bea Brickhill as the Academy’s Fundraising and Development Manager. Isobel comes to the Academy from the Canberra Symphony Orchestra where her principal role was to develop private giving and bequest programs adding to the already strong Corporate Partnerships Program at the orchestra.

Isobel is looking forward to meeting with and hearing from the Academy’s donors and business partners on how, together, the Academy can be better supported in the future.

Contact Isobel to discuss any ideas or questions you might have about how you can support the Academy.

Phone: 02 6201 9471

Support the Australian Futures Science Fund

Walking into the beautiful Shine Dome at the Australian Academy of Science, you are immediately surrounded by its rich and proud history. But you can be assured that our eyes are firmly set on the future.

Major new challenges such as climate change, infectious diseases, dwindling energy supplies, poverty and economic development demand strong scientific leadership on a national and global scale.

Join a community of supporters committed to exploration, innovation, and education. The deeper your engagement, the more central you are to the Academy's core values and strengths—and the greater your impact on the issues you care most about.

For over 60 years, Fellows and friends have helped the Academy to maintain a degree of financial independence through their donations.  

Your support through your bequest will allow us to continue to promote excellence in scientific research nationally and internationally, to develop and sustain a national scientific culture, ensure current and future generations have the opportunity to secure quality science education in our schools and provide valued independent scientific advice to assist policy development and program delivery.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss any questions you may have about ways in which you can support our endeavors through a bequest.  Please contact Isobel Griffin on 02 6201 9471 or email  

Find out more about the Australian Futures Science Fund

Support for the Academy

The Academy thanks the following people and organisations for their generous support.

Private Giving

Academy Pillars

Donations of or valued at $500,000 +
In perpetuity

  • Sir Jack Becker FAA
  • Estate of Thomas Davis
  • Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts
  • FJ Fenner AC CMG MBE FAA FRS and Mrs Bobbie Fenner
  • Dr Margaret Middleton
  • Estate of Ian Ross AO FAA
  • Estate of Miss JG Russell
  • Professor John Shine AO FAA
  • Telstra

President's Circle

Donations of or valued at $100,000 - $499,999

  • Professor Sir Marc Feldman AC FAA and Lady Tania Feldman

Science Circle

eDonations of or valued at $20,000 - $99,999

  • Griffith University
  • Rio Tinto Iron Ore
  • Professor Brian Schmidt AC FAA and Dr Jenny Gordon
  • Professor TP & Ms FE Speed

Other Supporters

  • Australian Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Professor James Angus AO FAA
  • Professor David Craig AO FAA FRS FRSN
  • Bjarne Dahl Trust
  • Professor Mahananda Dasgupta FAA
  • Dr Elizabeth Dennis FAA FTSE
  • Professor Dennis Goodrum
  • Professor Ian Gust
  • Professor Pauline Ladiges AO FAA
  • Professor John Lovering AO FAA FTSE
  • Dr EN Marks
  • Professor Bruce McKellar AC FAA
  • Professor John McKenzie AM FAA
  • Sir Rupert Myers KBE AO FAA FTSE
  • Professor NA Nicola FAA
  • Dr G R Orme
  • Mr Ben Patterson
  • Dr Andrew Pik
  • Professor Hugh Possingham FAA
  • Professor Richard Roush
  • Ms Kaylene Sanders
  • Professor Frances Separovic FAA
  • Professor John Swan AO FAA FTSE
  • Ms Kylie Walker
  • Dr Colin Ward FAA FAIAS FTSE
  • Anonymous 1


2015 Academy Speakers Series

  • CAASTRO - ARC Centre of Excellence for All-sky Astrophysics

National Committees Science Policy Forum

  • University of Queensland

Science at the Shine Dome 2015

  • The Australian National University
  • Garvin Institute of Medical Research
  • Geoscience Australia
  • Macquarie University
  • Monash University
  • PANalytical
  • University of Melbourne, Faculty of Science
  • University of Sydney, Faculty of Science


  • University of Newcastle

Sponsors—Other Academy related events

CUBEnet Conference

  • ANU
  • University of Queensland
  • Monash University

Science Pathways 2015

  • Cosmos Magazine
  • Department of State Development (Govt. of SA)
  • Flinders University
  • Medical Research Commercialisation Fund
  • Monash University
  • RMIT University
  • University of NSW
  • University of Western Sydney


  • Australian Council of Learned Academics
  • Australian Research Council
  • Department of Education
  • Evans and Partners Pty Ltd
  • Science and Industry endowment Fund

For more information about giving to the Academy through a donation or bequest, please contact:

Ms Isobel Griffin MFIA
Fundraising and Development Manager
Phone: 02 6201 9471
Support us

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science