Academy welcomes new ARC centres of excellence

Professor Andrew Pitman, Professor Lisa Kewley, Professor Andrew White, Professor Michelle Simmons and Professor Paul Mulvaney

The Academy welcomes the announcement by the Australian Research Council (ARC) of nine new centres of excellence .

More than $280 million in funding has been awarded to nine centres around the country, to develop Australia’s research excellence through highly innovative and collaborative research. ARC centres of excellence are typically funded for up to seven years.

The scheme is also designed to build Australia’s human capacity in a range of research areas, including the humanities and social sciences.

The Academy congratulates the following Fellows and National Committee (NC) Members who will be involved in leading the Centres around Australia:

  • Professor Lisa Kewley FAA, Chair of NC Astronomy, will head up the ARC Centre of Excellence for All Sky Astrophysics in 3 Dimensions.
  • Professor Andrew Pitman, member of the NC Data in Science and NC Earth Systems Science, will lead the ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes.
  • Professor Andrew White FAA, will lead the ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems.
  • Professor Paul Mulvaney FAA, Chair of NC Chemistry, will lead the ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science.
  • Professor Michelle Simmons FAA, a former Chair of NC Physics, will head up the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology.

The other new centres will cover biodiversity and heritage, low-energy electronics technologies, gravitational wave discovery, and ageing research.

Read the ARC centres of excellence media release and fact sheet.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science