Australian Academy of Science Newsletter 121

Message from the Chief Executive

The Academy is delighted that former Academy President Emeritus Professor Kurt Lambeck AO FAA FRS has been awarded the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science.

Former Academy President wins PM’s Prize for Science

Former Academy President Emeritus Professor Kurt Lambeck has been awarded the 2018 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science.

The importance of immunisation and a message for everyone

The Academy has joined with the Australian Department of Health to launch a series of videos, articles and images to promote the benefits of immunisation.

Academy celebrates one million likes on Facebook

In 12 months the Academy has produced more than 200 breaking news and other science videos and articles resulting in one million likes on its Facebook page.

Downward-looking telescope will unlock Australia's mineral wealth

The Academy's new 10-year plan for Australian geoscience has the aim of unlocking Australia’s hidden mineral wealth.

The 'big data' revolution

The Academy is leading the development of a national approach to big data in Australia and is asking stakeholders for their views.

Feeling neighbourly? Apply now for a Regional Collaborations grant

Applications are now open for funding for projects and workshops under the Regional Collaborations Programme.

Academy announces winners of latest research funding

The development of science in mid-20th century Australia and food security in the Pilbara will be the focus of research funded by the Academy.

Future Earth Australia focuses on Sustainable Development Goals

Future Earth Australia ramps up its activities with a symposium and national EMCR workshops. 

Women in STEM, and the future of agriscience

Women in STEM consultations are underway, and the challenges and priorities for agriscience were the focus of a meeting in Canberra.

Leading scientist presented with Haddon Forrester King Medal

Professor David Cooke has been acknowledged for his research into the world’s major copper–gold deposits.

Independent selection of research grants essential for integrity of Australia’s research system

To blink or not to blink—Academy Fellow delivers 2018 Lloyd Rees Lecture

International update

  • European Research Council promotes funding opportunities for Australian researchers
  • Australian and Colombian science academies explore potential collaboration

Coming events

  • Collaboration Across Boundaries (Canberra)
  • When Life Ends (Canberra)
  • The Science of Sport: Women on and off the field (Melbourne)
  • Cooling Sydney Hack (Sydney)

Opportunities for scientists

  • Theo Murphy Initiative (Australia)
  • Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Postdoctoral Fellowships 2019
  • Regional Collaborations Programme
  • Mahathir Science Award
  • Albert Einstein World Award of Science
  • Dan David Foundation Award
  • Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships for Foreign Scholars for the 2019–2020 Academic Year
  • IUHPST Essay Prize in History and Philosophy of Science

Fellows update

  • Honours and awards to Fellows
  • Obituaries for Professor Emeritus Jacob Israelachvili and Professor John Chappell
  • Welcome to our new Honorary Editor

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science