Australian Academy of Science Newsletter 132

Message from the Chief Executive

October has been a month of great celebration for the Academy.

Mathematics trailblazer and role model wins Prime Minister’s Prize for Science

Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger is the 2019 recipient of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science.

Outstanding Australians recognised for contributions to science

Dr Megan Clark and Mr Peter Yates are the joint 2019 recipients of the prestigious Academy Medal.

Heading overseas? Measles is one of your risks. Get vaccinated.

The Academy is urging Australians heading overseas, for business or pleasure, to make sure their measles vaccinations are up to date.

Academy reaches two million Facebook likes in two years

Two million likes on the Academy’s Facebook page shows there is a public appetite for credible and trusted sources of information.

Environmental historian will use Moran Award to study climate science past in Australia

Dr Ruth Morgan from Monash University is the recipient of the Academy’s 2020 Moran Award for History of Science Research.

Fellows awarded NSW Premier’s Prizes

Three Academy Fellows have taken out NSW Premier’s Prizes with Professor Rose Amal named the 2019 NSW Scientist of the Year.

Organisations across the STEM sector championing the Women in STEM Decadal Plan

The Academy welcomes new Women in STEM Decadal Plan Champions, which are aligning their gender equity journey with the plan.

Fellow to lead new plant centre of excellence

Professor Christine Beveridge will lead the new Australian Research Council (ARC) Centre of Excellence for Plant Success in Nature and Agriculture.

Submissions for the Mike Smith Student Prize now open

The Mike Smith Student Prize recognises research into Australia’s scientific and environmental history.

Physicists focus on gender equity at Indian conference

Gender equity was the main theme of Pressing for Progress 2019, the Indian Physics Association’s national conference.

Education Investment Fund closure a loss for Australia

Academy supports EMCRs at Synthetic Biology Australasia conference

Sustainability Research and Innovation Congress: call for sessions

Opportunities for scientists

  • Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Postdoctoral Fellowships
  • The Dan David Prize
  • The ‘Albert Einstein’ World Award of Science

Fellows update

  • Honours and awards to Fellows

The beginning of weather forecasting Selby Travelling Lecture by Professor Herbert Huppert FRS, 6 November, Sydney

Quantum chemistry: the good, the bad and the ugly David Craig Medal Lecture by Professor Peter Gill FAA, 20 November, Hobart

Evolutionary science for a changing world National Committee for Ecology, Evolution and Conservation, Chaired by Professor Craig Moritz FAA, 2 December, Canberra

Re:produce workshop Aims to address the challenges of making reproducible science by offering EMCRs tools that can help make their research more open and verifiable, 10–11 December, Brisbane

Innovating the everyday: our built environment and transport Changing lives with science speaker series, 10 December, Canberra

Honorary editor: Professor Yuri Estrin FAA

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science