Australian Academy of Science announces new Chief Executive

August 31, 2016

The Australian Academy of Science has announced the appointment of a new Chief Executive today, Anna-Maria Arabia.

Following a distinguished career working in science advocacy, science policy, and with not-for-profits she will take up the role from 24 October 2016.

President of the Academy of Science, Professor Andrew Holmes, said the leadership Anna-Maria would bring to the organisation was sure to have a positive impact on Australian science and research.

“I and my colleagues very much look forward to the prospect of working with Anna-Maria Arabia as Chief Executive,” Professor Holmes said.

“She is widely experienced in so many aspects of activities undertaken by the Academy, and can be expected to lead us in many new endeavours.”

Ms Arabia said she was excited to take up the new role, following her roles at Science & Technology Australia as CEO; Questacon as General Manager; and most recently as Director of Policy/Principal Adviser to the Federal Leader of the Opposition.

“I’m thrilled to be joining the Australian Academy of Science at a time when the place of science in society is paramount to meet local and global challenges that know no political or geographical boundary.

“Particularly in straitened economic times, Australia must benefit from science which is a key driver of the knowledge economy.

“It is a privilege to be working alongside the esteemed Fellows and committed staff of the Academy of Science,” Ms Arabia said.

Anna-Maria Arabia succeeds Dr Sue Meek who stepped down in July 2016 after eight years of service.

“I wish to thank Sue Meek for the tremendous contribution she has made to the advancement of the Australian Academy of Science and wish her every success in the future,” said Professor Holmes.

The interim Chief Executive Mr Ben Patterson commented that he and the senior managers were delighted at Anna-Maria's appointment and that they were looking forward to working with someone who had a strong knowledge of the sector and who had demonstrated leadership and commitment in the field.


Media contact: Dion Pretorius | 0418 281 777 |

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science