Fellow and Pawsey Medalist receives top US honour

April 25, 2014

Australian Academy of Science Fellow and Pawsey Medal winner Professor Michelle Simmons FAA will join a small group of Australians elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The American Academy is one of the oldest honorary societies and includes some of the world’s leading scholars in its membership, including Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking.

The Sydney physicist, based at UNSW, will join 600 Foreign Honorary Members of the American Academy for her work in quantum computing. Her team’s development of the world’s first smallest working transistor has been hailed as a crucial technological leap forward in her field.

Professor Simmons won the Australian Academy of Science’s Pawsey Medal for her contributions to Physics in 2005, and was then elected as a Fellow the following year. She was also the chair for the National Committee for Physics from 2006 to 2011.

She will be inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at a ceremony in October.

Read more here.

© 2019 Australian Academy of Science