Fellows awarded Eureka Prizes

September 04, 2018
Professor Nalini Joshi FAA AO from the University of Sydney

Three Fellows have been rewarded for their excellence in research/innovation and leadership at the 2018 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes.

Professor Nalini Joshi FAA AO from the University of Sydney received the 2018 University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers.

Professor Nalini Joshi ‘has been instrumental in training and mentoring dozens of individual researchers and countless others through the broader mechanisms that she has established. A strong advocate for gender equality, her influential actions have transformed the research landscape and supported young female scientists across Australia’ according to the prize citation.

Professor Thomas Maschmeyer FAA from the University of Sydney was awarded the CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science.

Professor Maschmeyer is ‘a world leader in the chemistry of catalysis. He aims to generate and translate new knowledge into commercial solutions as part of his vision for a more sustainable world. His discoveries allow widespread use of renewables and recyclables in the chemical, material and energy spaces. His discoveries have resulted in 23 patents and the foundation of four companies.’

Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop FAA AO was part of the Optical Physics in Neuroscience team from the University of Queensland that won the UNSW Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research.

The Optical Physics in Neuroscience team ‘has devised cutting-edge methods for studying how our brains work to detect gravity and motion. Using optical trapping and novel microscopes, they successfully imaged the functioning brain circuits that process gravity and motion and combine this information with other senses.’

Read about all the Eureka Prize winners.

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science